Fiction logo

A Lion's Dream

I was a lion in the circus, beaten and scolded by the trainers every day, although every day in front of the audience and jumping,

By DelorisPowersPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
A Lion's Dream
Photo by Luke Tanis on Unsplash

I was a lion in the circus, beaten and scolded by the trainers every day, although every day in front of the audience and jumping, but no meaning at all, everyday practice, the body is scarred, no longer sparse hair, I do not know how much blood was shed.

This night was a new year, it was cold, snowing, the dark sky without a trace of light, just beaten I limped into the cage, the handler had long prepared a bun for me, hungry I hastily picked up ready to eat, looking at the bun smaller than soap, I could not help but frown slightly, the cold wind blowing my fur, my paws were almost frozen, the corners of my mouth drooped, the eyes have There is no list of once the light, I watched the mouse stole the bun, I curled up into a ball in a corner, shivering I could not help but remember the old ......

Once upon a time, I was not like this, my family and I galloped on the prairie, I was the lord of the prairie, everything I wanted was so easy to get, the gentle wind, soft grass, the prey at your fingertips ...... I can't help but miss the life of the prairie ... ...Suddenly, I heard the voice of my handler chiding me, and I knew I was going to perform again, so I shook my fur and walked towards my handler with my chest up.

It was the last show of the night, the neon lights were flashing in front of my eyes, my friends in the audience were cheering, and I couldn't get my energy up. The trainer was holding a piece of meat in front of my eyes, trying to get me to jump up and eat it, I tried to jump up with all my strength, I tilted my head and put all my strength into it, I jumped with all my strength, but fell heavily on the ground, my legs hurt, I heard a sigh of relief from the audience, I frowned, gritted my teeth and tried to stand up, I used my front paws to support my tired and painful body, just stood up, but fell again, greeted me indeed tamer merciless whipping ......

I teary-eyed blurred, saw a little girl holding her mother's hand, eyebrows like a moon, smiling like a flower, that mother's gentle look can not help but remind me of my parents, my mother will always look at me tenderly, I often lie in my mother's arms, my mother with her warm wet tongue to me to sort out the hair, comfortable, my father strong but careful, will always pick away the lice for me ...... thinking about two bean-sized tears running down the side of my cheeks, my eyes were red and my wounds were becoming more and more painful, I wiped my tears with my paws and licked my wounds, just wanting to close my eyes and go to sleep.

"Ah!" A scream woke me up from the sweetness of memory, the handler picked up the stick and hit me on the leg, only to see the handler's face red, nose grunted a few times, eyes bigger than copper bells, whipping me back and forth, once more than heavy, once more than painful, the wound is bigger than once, blood kept flowing out, I gritted my teeth, but could not breathe, and was dragged into the cage again in a daze, the wound rubbed the ground as if the ground The wound rubbed against the ground as if the ground also oozed blood.

Suddenly I tripped over a heavy stone and fell to the ground, bleeding so much that the place where I was standing was stained red. In the moment of falling to the ground, I suddenly saw a star fall to the ground and splash out beautiful sparks, and they came together as my family, who were sitting together as if waiting for me to arrive. The table was full of meals, and in the middle, there was a pile of fire that was burning vigorously, I shouted, the family people here I come, they seemed to hear me, they all smiled and watched me ......

A gust of wind blew the sand that filled the air and flew into my eyes, I completely collapsed, my hair was messy, my lips were purple, my mane had long lost its former luster, and I knew that I had come to the place where there was no cold, no hunger, no pain, and I followed my family to the happiness of the New Year.

Fable
Like

About the Creator

DelorisPowers

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.