Fiction logo

A High School Love Story: Nathan and Alice

Two Kansas teens navigate the ups and downs of young love

By Liviu RomanPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 13 min read
3
A High School Love Story: Nathan and Alice
Photo by Timo Stern on Unsplash

First Day at High School

Nathan walked into the crowded high school hallway on his first day as a freshman. He felt excitement and nerves as he scanned the sea of unfamiliar faces. He had always been a shy kid, and the thought of making new friends made him a bit uneasy.

"Hey, you're new here, right?" Nathan heard a voice say behind him. He turned around to see a tall, skinny boy with a friendly smile.

"Yeah, I am. I'm Nathan," Nathan said, trying to sound confident.

"I'm Jake. Nice to meet you. Do you need any help finding your classes?" Jake asked.

"That would be great, thanks," Nathan said, relieved to have found a friendly face on his first day.

As they walked to their first class together, Jake filled Nathan in on all the essential things he needed to know about the school and its different cliques. Nathan was grateful for the help and felt less nervous about starting high school.

Alice, a fellow freshman, was having similar thoughts as she made her way to her first class. She had always been outgoing and confident, but starting high school made her feel a little out of her element.

"Hi, I'm Alice. Nice to meet you," she said as she introduced herself to her new classmates.

"I'm Ben; nice to meet you too," a boy sitting next to her responded.

"So, do you know anyone here?" Ben asked.

"Not really; I just moved here from out of state," Alice said.

"Don't worry; you'll make friends in no time. This school is pretty friendly," Ben said, trying to reassure her.

Alice smiled, grateful for the kind words. She was determined to make the most of her high school experience and was excited to see what the next four years would bring.

New Classmates

Nathan and Alice quickly settled into the routine of high school life. They were both surprised that they had much in common with their new classmates. Nathan was thrilled to discover that he had a passion for science and math, and Alice was excited to be part of the school's drama club.

"Hey Nathan, I saw you in physics class; you're good at it," said one of Nathan's classmates, Ryan.

"Thanks; I've always been interested in science and math. I'm thinking of majoring in engineering in college," Nathan replied.

"That's cool; I'm thinking of doing the same. We should study together sometime," Ryan suggested.

"Yeah, that would be great," Nathan said, excited to have found a study buddy.

Alice was also making connections in her drama class. "Alice, you were amazing in our last performance; you have real talent," her drama teacher said.

"Thank you, I've always loved acting, and being part of this class has been a dream come true," Alice said, beaming with pride.

"I can tell you're a natural. I'd love for you to be part of our school play this semester," her drama teacher said.

"Really? That would be amazing. Thank you so much," Alice said, thrilled at the opportunity.

As Nathan and Alice made new friends and found their passions, they both felt a sense of belonging in their new school. They were excited to see what the next four years would bring.

Nathan and Alice Meet in the High School Hallways

One day, as Nathan was making his way to his next class, he saw a girl with bright red hair and striking green eyes. He couldn't help but stare as she walked past him. It was Alice. They locked eyes for a moment before Nathan quickly looked away, feeling embarrassed.

"Hey, Nathan! Wait up," Jake said as he caught up to Nathan.

"Hey, Jake. What's up?" Nathan asked, trying to shake off his embarrassment.

"Not much, just wanted to know if you're coming to the football game tonight," Jake said.

"Yeah, I'll be there. I heard the team is looking good this year," Nathan said, trying to change the subject.

"Yeah, they are. Hey, do you know that girl with red hair? She's in my history class," Jake asked.

Nathan's heart skipped a beat. "No, I don't. Why do you ask?" he asked, trying to sound casual.

"No reason, just thought you might have seen her around. She's new, I think. Anyway, see you at the game tonight," Jake said before walking away.

Nathan couldn't believe it. He had finally met the girl he had been thinking about since their first day of school. He knew he had to find a way to talk to her.

Alice, on the other hand, was thinking about the boy she had seen in the hallways. She couldn't shake the feeling that she knew him from somewhere. As she was walking to her next class, she saw him again. This time, they locked eyes and she felt a spark.

"Excuse me, do I know you from somewhere?" Alice asked as she approached him.

"I don't think so, my name is Nathan. I'm new here," Nathan replied, trying to sound cool.

"Nice to meet you; I'm Alice. I feel like I've seen you before," Alice said, trying to place where she knew him from.

"Yeah, I feel the same way. Maybe we have one of those faces," Nathan chuckled.

"Maybe. Anyway, I have to get to class. Nice meeting you, Nathan," Alice said, feeling a little disappointed that she couldn't place where she knew him from.

As Nathan watched her walk away, he knew he would do whatever it took to talk to her again and figure out where he knew her.

Visit to the City

One weekend, Nathan and Alice's drama club took a trip to the city to see a play. Nathan was excited to spend time with Alice and maybe even get to know her better. But as luck would have it, they ended up in different groups and didn't get much chance to talk. Nathan was disappointed but knew he would have to wait for another opportunity.

As they left the theater, Nathan saw Alice walking with her group. He quickly caught up to her and said, "Hey, Alice. I didn't get to talk to you much on the trip. How was the play?"

"It was great; I enjoyed it. I think it's gonna inspire me in my acting," Alice smiled.

"That's great; I wish I could have seen it with you. How about we grab some lunch together before we head back home?" Nathan suggested.

"I would love to, but I'm sorry, I already made plans with my group," Alice said, looking apologetic.

"Oh, no problem. Maybe next time," Nathan said, trying to hide his disappointment.

"Yeah, for sure. I'll see you back at school," Alice said before she walked away with her group.

Nathan felt a twinge of disappointment, but he knew he would find another opportunity to spend time with Alice. He couldn't shake the feeling that they had a special connection.

The bus ride back to school was quiet; Nathan couldn't stop thinking about Alice; he was lost in his thoughts. Suddenly, he heard Alice's voice, "Hey Nathan, do you want to sit together?"

Nathan was overjoyed; he quickly grabbed his things and sat next to her. They talked the whole way back to school, and Nathan felt like he was on top of the world. Even though the trip didn't go as he had hoped, he knew that he and Alice would have many more opportunities to get to know each other better.

The Accident

A few weeks later, Nathan and Alice's school organized a trip to the city. Nathan and Alice were in the same group and finally had the chance to talk. They discovered they had a lot in common, and Nathan knew he was falling for her. But their newfound romance was cut short when the bus they were on got into an accident on the way back to school. Nathan was injured, and Alice was shaken but thankfully unharmed.

"Nathan, are you okay? Can you hear me?" Alice's voice came through the fog of pain as Nathan lay on the ground.

"Yeah, I think so. My leg hurts," Nathan replied, trying to sit up.

"Don't move; the ambulance is on its way," Alice said, tears streaming down her face.

"I'm so sorry, Alice. I should have never taken you on this trip," Nathan said, feeling guilty.

"It's not your fault, Nathan. Accidents happen. I'm just glad you're okay," Alice said, holding his hand tightly.

As they waited for the ambulance, Nathan and Alice talked about their feelings for each other. They both realized they had developed strong feelings for one another and knew they wanted to be together.

Nathan's leg was broken at the hospital, and he needed surgery. Alice stayed by his side the whole time, never leaving him alone. She was determined to be there for him and help him through his recovery.

"I'm so sorry, Alice. I never wanted to burden you," Nathan said, feeling guilty.

"Don't be silly, Nathan. You're not a burden. I care about you, and I want to be here for you," Alice said, leaning in to kiss him on the forehead.

Nathan knew that he was lucky to have Alice by his side. He knew that he would have a long road to recovery, but with her by his side, he knew he could get through anything.

Nathan, the Football Team Captain

Nathan was determined to make the most of his recovery time. He threw himself into his studies and, with the help of his physical therapist, was able to get back on the football team. And with his hard work and dedication, he was eventually named team captain.

"Nathan, congratulations on becoming the football team captain," his coach said, patting him on the back.

"Thank you, coach. I couldn't have done it without your support and my physical therapist's help," Nathan said, grateful.

"You deserve it, Nathan. You worked hard to get back on the team, and it's paid off. I'm proud of you," his coach said before walking away.

Nathan saw Alice waiting for him as he walked out of the coach's office. "Hey, Nathan. I heard the news. Congratulations," Alice said, hugging him.

"Thanks, Alice. I couldn't have done it without you. You were always there for me during my recovery," Nathan said, holding her tight.

"Of course, I'll always be here for you. So, when's the first game?" Alice asked with a smile.

"Next week, are you going to come and watch?" Nathan asked, hopeful.

"I wouldn't miss it for the world," Alice said with a grin.

Nathan felt a sense of accomplishment and pride. He knew being team captain was a big responsibility, but he was ready for the challenge. He was excited to lead his team to victory and make his school proud.

As the game day arrived, Nathan felt confident and ready. He knew that with the support of his team and Alice by his side, he could accomplish anything. He led the team to a great victory and felt proud of the team's performance. He knew this was just the beginning, and he couldn't wait for the next game.

Nathan and Alice have their favorite spot

As Nathan's physical therapy ended, he and Alice started spending more time together. They often go to their favorite spot by the river to talk and watch the sunset. Nathan couldn't believe his luck. He had found a girl who understood him and shared his passions and interests.

"Hey Nathan, do you want to go to our spot by the river tonight? I heard it's supposed to be a beautiful sunset," Alice said, smiling at him.

"I would love to. I've been looking forward to it all day," Nathan replied, smiling back at her.

As they walked to the river, they chatted and laughed, enjoying each other's company. They reached the spot and settled on the grass, looking out at the beautiful view.

"This is my favorite place; the view is always so beautiful," Nathan said, taking Alice's hand in his.

"I know me too. It's always so peaceful and calming. I'm glad we found this spot," Alice said, leaning on Nathan's shoulder.

As the sun set, they watched silently, taking in the moment's beauty. Nathan felt contentment and knew this was where he belonged, with Alice by his side.

"I love you, Alice," Nathan said, turning to look at her.

"I love you too, Nathan," Alice said, smiling at him.

They shared a kiss, sealing their love for each other. They knew they had found something special and were determined to hold on to it. From that day forward, they made it a tradition to come to the bank every night to watch the sunset together.

High Marks and a Welcome Vacation

Nathan and Alice's hard work and dedication paid off, as they graduated high school with high marks. They were proud of their accomplishments and excited for the next chapter of their lives.

"I can't believe we did it, Alice. We graduated high school," Nathan said, hugging her tightly.

"I know, it's crazy. I'm so proud of us. And I'm even more proud of you; you got into your dream college," Alice said, her eyes shining with pride.

"I couldn't have done it without you. You've been my rock throughout this journey," Nathan said, holding her hand.

After graduation, Nathan and Alice took a vacation together before starting college. They wanted to make the most of their time together before they had to go their separate ways.

"I can't wait for our vacation, Nathan. It's going to be so much fun," Alice said as they packed their bags.

"I know me too. I'm looking forward to relaxing and enjoying each other's company," Nathan replied with a smile.

As they set off on their vacation, Nathan and Alice felt excitement and sadness. They knew their time together was limited, but they determined to make the most of it.

They spent their days exploring new places and trying new things and their nights cuddled together, discussing their plans. They knew they would always have each other's backs, regardless of the future.

The vacation was the perfect way to end their high school journey and start their new chapter. They returned home with a sense of closure and a renewed sense of hope for the future.

Final

As Nathan and Alice headed to college, they knew they would face challenges and obstacles. But they also knew that they had each other and that their love would see them through anything.

Nathan was excited to start his engineering degree at his dream college, but he also felt sad about leaving Alice behind.

"I'm going to miss you, Nathan," Alice said, tears streaming down her face.

"I'm going to miss you too, Alice. But we'll make it work. I promise," Nathan said, holding her tightly.

They said their goodbyes and planned to visit each other as often as possible. They knew that their love was strong enough to survive the distance.

As the months passed, Nathan and Alice faced challenges and obstacles, but they always found a way to make it work. They talked on the phone, sent emails, and visited each other as much as possible.

As they graduated college, they both knew that they wanted to spend the rest of their lives together. Nathan proposed to Alice, and she said yes. They knew they had come a long way and were ready to take on the world together.

"I love you, Nathan," Alice said as they kissed.

"I love you too, Alice. I always will," Nathan replied, feeling happy and content.

They looked out at the beautiful sunset, feeling grateful for the journey they had been on. They knew they had found true love and were ready for whatever the future held.

Fan FictionAdventure
3

About the Creator

Liviu Roman

Mahatma Gandhi — 'Be the change that you wish to see in the world.'

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Som Duttabout a year ago

    such an emotional love story

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.