Fiction logo

A Hidden Treasure

The secret Inside

By Nelly BlackPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

I carefully looked at the gold heart- shaped locket again, turning it over and over. The letter had said that I should always keep it close to my heart because when I went to the old barn, I would understand how valuable the locket truly was. I then tied it up safely in my handkerchief and stuck it in my bosom. I was waiting for one of the twins, to bring the car around. I came out and set on the porch to wait when here comes Ms. Tiny up the steps with Jenny and Addie Mae bringing in some peaches from the orchard. Look out, now, Mama Clara! We gonna have Addie Mae’s famous peach cobbler tonight. You going somewhere? No, no. Don’t tell me- I know you off to do your church stuff again. Now you hurry back so you won’t miss out on the cobbler. Just as she went in the door, Harry pulled up.

It has been eighty some years since I been here. Everything all growed up and covered by bushes and vines. The letter said that I should take one of the men with me since I didn’t have to hide things anymore and I might need some one to look out for snakes and other vermin that might be around. The old oak tree was still trying to hold on but where the lightning had struck it showed that it was dying. As me and Harry made our way down to the old barn we saw the path that led to it and a little way to the side was a burnt area. I says to Harry that I don’t remember this and he says that about eleven and a half years ago some bank robbers had tried to hide out here and set up camp. Mr. Plume who was the gardener back then told Mr. Tiny and they was caught. They set that area on fire trying to escape. We finally reached the old barn. It was so run down and the color faded. There was boards missing and I hoped that nothing would fall on me in there. I asked Harry to go in and check things out before I went in. Harry went in and came out in a few minutes holding an old kerosene lamp that he had lit. As I took the lamp and went inside I told Harry to wait, outside and I would call him if I needed help.

Right now, my heart is racing like mad as all the memories come flooding back. Being in this run down barn with my darling, Matthew was the happiest time in my life. I walked over to the post on the right side of the barn where the tin bucket hung sideways by a nail. The key was still there. I took the key and went to the back of the barn where our hidden room was. I opened the door and stepped inside and just stood there, taking in the excitement being of here for the first time in over eighty years. Everything was just like it had always been just covered with dust. As instructed by the letter I went over to the little table in the corner by the bed. I took out the Letter that was in the drawer and folded back the covers on the bed and set down to read it.

It read, To the love of my life, my Darling Clara. Since you are reading this letter, I am dead and you have the gold locket. I’m sure that you must be wondering what happened to our son, James Matthew. I want you to know, first, that I kept my promise to you and made sure that he was safe and well cared for. I hate that you couldn’t stay with our son and raise him yourself but you knew what we would be facing. You sacrificed so much for us. The locket is the key to everything. Take it to the Arllington Bank up in Marrow, look inside the locket and you will find a set of numbers to a safety deposit box. The locket is to identify you so they give you the box. Everything in that box belongs to you. I left Daniel the inheritance from my father. I left you the inheritance from my mother. The box contains the whereabouts of our son, James, and my final letter to you. I love you, Clara. Matthew. As I stood up to leave, I turned around to take one last look at where I had spent the best times in my life. I have always had the greatest treasure, Matthew’s love for me. I didn’t lock the room again and I laid the key on the table. No more hiding. No more secrets. I blew out the lamp and stepped out the old barn. Where to Mama Clara? Harry, we are going to the bank….

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Nelly Black

I love writing stories (series) that have the reader sitting for hours just to find out what's next. I also write songs plays books and poetry. I love it when people enjoy my writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.