Fiction logo

A Happy Story

A fictional short story about someone writing a fictional short story.

By KaciePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

A happy story. How the fuck am I gonna write one of those? I'm a senior in high school, am currently on my period, hate my mother, and take pills for my severe anxiety. Oh, and I'm also Asian which invites the resident bullies to stretch their eyes out as far as they can whenever they see me. Can't forget to mention the part about how they sprinkle in, "ching chong" too for the icing on top. What do I have to be happy about with a life like this?

Maybe I could just write a story about a kitten or a puppy or something, I mean how could anything with baby animals be depressing? Wait, don't a ton of adorable baby animals die all the time because assholes would rather shop than adopt? Well that idea is scrapped. You can give me any happy topic and I could somehow end up making it sad.

I didn't ask to be such an unhappy person, society has simply made me this way. Hard to be happy when the world we live in has countless atrocities being committed each and every day. People die from starvation while others eat themselves to death. Some get murdered by abusive significant others that their hearts trap them with. Millions lay homeless in the street as the rich look down on them from their penthouses. Tell me now, where is my inspiration for a happy story?

I mean, there are some things and people that somehow manage to put a smile on my face. Music could take me from crying to dancing in minutes. The taste of Laffytaffy could make me cry tears of joy (except for the yellow ones though because we all know those should just be discontinued already). Then there's my sister who has just the right amount of sarcasm for my taste.

Shit- how did I forget about one of the only reasons I'm able to survive school 5 days a week? If it weren't for Mr. Davidson I would have dropped out years ago. He's the shining light at the end of the tunnel that is Franklin Senior High. A school therapist that actually does he job: helping kids feel better instead of worse. He's kind of taken the spot of "dad" in my head and heart. So many teachers and staff members of Franklin see the constant waves of bullying crashing through the hallways and turn a blind eye. Not Mr. Davidson though. He actually does something to stop it. A hero without a cape is what I call him. He always laughs when I say that to him but then he shakes his head and says, "That's you Elizabeth, not me."

I guess there are some reasons to be happy huh? Maybe writing a happy story isn't impossible after all. But what do I make the story about? I know who to ask for help.

~~~~~~

I walk into Mr. Davidson's room for lunch, as usual, and plop a notebook down on the table. I dramatically point my finger at it and take a seat.

"A fictional piece about something happy. Gimme something Mr. D." I grab a pen, open the notebook, and tap the pen on the page eagerly. He smiles and proceeds to grab his chin inquisitively.

I wait patiently for a good thirty seconds before his eyes light up with an idea. I lunge toward the notebook and click my pen into position in preparation for his thought.

"Why not write a story about a hero without a cape? You could write about a young student who visits with her school therapist every day. She doesn't realize she's a hero, but her visits with the therapist make his day and have made him remember what true happiness is."

I smile. I'm happy.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Kacie

Just an aspiring writer trying to gain experience :)

Follow my adorable kitties on Instagram and Tiktok @joethehoe.finnforthewin <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.