Fiction logo

A Gift of Ice and Snow; Chapter 2

Chapter 2

By Katarzyna CrevanPublished about a year ago 8 min read
Like

I stare at my reflection in the mirror. The pale blue dress hugs my figure before waterfalling down from my waist. I had been hesitant about such pale color considering my gray eyes, but it seemed to have just enough color to actually add color to my eyes instead of draining the color away. Considering I had Lydia's help with my makeup and picking out jewelry, I'm not sure why Ma is frowning.

We had talked yesterday after she calmed down. Everything was fine, right?

"Is something wrong?" I prompt. I want to get going. Lydia and I didn't want to miss the opening ceremony.

Ma shakes her head. "No, just. . ." She reaches into her pocket, pulling out a hairpin I instantly recognize.

The silver comb sparkles in the light, crystals sending small rainbows dancing across the room. I can see Lydia straighten from her bored slouch as Ma holds up the butterfly hairpin. Slowly, Ma reaches up, gently sweeping a lock of my hair back, expertly pinning it in place with the clip. Silently, she once more studies me. This time she smiles.

"Now you look perfect," she says, pulling me in for a hug.

I hug her back. I know giving me the pin was no small act. It was the first gift Papa had given her during their courtship, the first time she knew she loved him. She hardly ever wore it for fear of damaging or losing it.

"Remember," Ma whispers in my ear, "You don't have to prove anything to those who really care about you."

I tighten my grip on her and she tightens hers in response. "Thank you," I whisper back to her. "For everything."

Ma pulls back, planting a kiss on my forehead. "That's what mothers are for. Now go," she orders, fully releasing me. "Enjoy your night, both of you."

"Yes, ma'am," Lydia crows as she grabs my hand, excited to finally be on our way.

"And I want that hairpin back!" Ma yells after us.

xXxXx

Lydia's prediction proves true enough. The men that approach us are a mix of those who want to compliment us and dance, and those who want to ask me about the creature.

Unfortunately for them, Lydia and I already have a plan for the night. It's our first Festival and we want to enjoy it. We plan to dance until the music stops- but not with any of the men. We dance with each other. Lydia however, wants to tease them and keep them fawning all night. We dance away from and back to each other for the part with partners. Though the men try to step in, we dodge around them.

I can hear the beat coming to the chorus. I spin, moving back towards Lydia. A young man I don't recognize steps into my path, red hair glistening in the light of the fire. He holds a hand out to me, green eyes daring me to take it. I smile at him, a hand reaching forward.

I step around him, my hand claiming Lydia's reaching hand. Lydia pulls me to her. We spin away from the young man, laughing.

The song comes to an end and we bow to each other. I glance back to see the young man still watching me, even as a girl- Nia- comes to his side, speaking to him.

"My, my, you've caught the mystery man's eye," Lydia teases.

I look back at her. "Tsk tsk. He deserves pity. He's fallen for one of the girls not dancing with the men tonight."

Lydia laughs. "Let's get a drink."

She turns and I follow her to the table with drinks. Lydia waves at someone, turning to me. "Give me a minute. There's someone I have to say hi to."

I nod as she prances toward whoever she saw. I glance over to find her cousin Kanje. I wonder what he was doing here tonight. He visited when he could, which wasn't often as he was the prince's personal guard. Seeing me, he waves. I wave back as Lydia reaches him.

Turning back to the table, I reach for a drink. A hand shoots into my vision, claiming the cup I was reaching for. I swear, if it was that young man, I would tell Lydia to invite Kanje to dance with us. I turn to the presence at my side. The young man is not there- Nia is.

I cross my arms. "That was childish."

"Is it childish if I was merely reminding you of your place?" she retorts, sipping from the cup.

"Get over it, Nia."

Nia smirks, setting the cup down. "Enjoy your final night as a pet. Tomorrow when they place you, it will be somewhere out of sight. You don't belong here. You're just an amusement. All the attention you're getting tonight?" She sneers. "Just some boys who want to see what it's like to be with a human. You are nothing to them. It doesn't matter what you do. You'll never belong here. You're practically worthless. Even Fey like me without powers are far more than just your superiors."

I clench my jaw at her words. Nia tips the cup over, silver liquid splashing across and over the edge of the table. I jump back to avoid the spray.

"Whoops. Sorry. Oh, wait. Isn't it a human custom that if you want someone to leave, you spill your cup? I guess that's your cue then, pet." Nia flashes me one last sneer before turning to leave.

I don't want them to, but her words hit home. It feels like a knife is twisting in my gut.

"That- ooh, why I oughta. She didn't stain your dress, did she?" Lydia appears at my side.

"I don't think so," I manage to say, turning towards Lydia.

Kanje stands at her side. He looks concerned while she looks furious.

"What did she say to you?" She asks. "Say the word and I'll set Kanje on her." Kanje nods.

"Nothing. It's fine. I-" practically worthless. I swallow back the lump forming in my throat. "I just need a minute."

I turn away from her- towards the tree line.

"Aspen-"

"Please! I just want to be alone right now." I yank my arm from her and run before she can say anything. Thankfully she doesn't follow.

I run. I run and I run. My legs pound against the ground, each fall nailing Nia's words into my head again twisting the knife in my gut. Pet. Out of sight. Amusement. Nothing. Never belong. Practically worthless. Your superiors. Leave. Over and over. The sound of my thudding heart can't even drown them out. Tears blur my vision; I can feel twigs and branches snatching at my hair and dress. My lungs are burning. I keep running.

A root catches my foot and I topple to the ground. I try to shove myself off the ground, but the sob I've been shoving down yanks me back to the earth.

"Why do you let your tears water the ground?" A voice like a gentle breeze asks.

I look up to find a green figure hovering over me. Everything about them is green- their eyes, their hair, their skin, their clothes. "What are you?" I breathe.

"What we are doesn't matter," a new voice says as a warm presence wraps around me. "What matters is what we can do for you."

I look to my side to behold a figure, just like the other one, but red. Two more just like them, but blue and black float behind it.

A story that mom told me once comes to mind. "You're the Gifters." I stare in amazement.

The black one huffs. "How observant."

The Blue Gifter shushes the Black Gifter before fixing its eyes on me. "That saves us the time of explaining what we do then." It floats to me and the Red and Green Gifters scatter from its path. "Tell me what you want child."

I remember the warning in the story- never tell them what you want and never accept their gift. "Nothing. I want nothing from you."

"Surely there's something you want," the Green Gifter says, appearing at my shoulder.

"Why else would you be out here crying alone," the Red Gifter states, appearing at my other shoulder.

"At least tell us why you're crying," the Green Gifter begs.

"It's none of your-" I gasp as a chilling wind passes over me.

The Black Gifter now stands before me with the Blue Gifter. It looks back at me sadly. "Such pain and sadness. We could fix it. Fix everything. Tell us what you'd like to be different and we can make it so."

"We could make it so you never had to come here to begin with," the Red Gifter muses.

"Or we can make you Fey," the Green Gifter purrs in my ear.

Make you Fey, the words echo through my mind. No one could ever say I didn't belong. That would be better than a dream come true, but-

"No. All your gifts come with a price."

"Don't you at least want to hear the price?" the Blue Gifter asks.

"If we make you Fey, you have to choose a Fey to become human. Anyone you want," the Black Gifter says.

I didn't even have to think about that. It was a simple choice. Nia. I would choose Nia.

"No." I shake my head.

The Red Gifter floats to look me in the eye. "No? You'd be getting what you want, and you could take revenge."

I shake my head again. "That would make me no better than those who torment me. I'd rather earn my place and prove them wrong."

None of them say anything. Instead, they smile.

"The gift it is," the Black Gifter muses.

"I don't want any gift!"

The Green Gifter flies around me, tossing my hair into the air. "That's why you're perfect!"

"Perfect for what?" I demand as a bad feeling rises in my gut.

The Blue Gifter smiles. "The gift we took away many years ago."

"ASPEN!"

I hear Ma's voice echo through the forest. I don't hesitate. I turn to run to her. I see Papa beside her.

Hands claim my cheek, forcing my eyes back to the Blue Gifter. Bone-chilling cold floods through my entire being. My last bit of warmth flees in a gasp. I can feel more hands joining the Blue Gifter's as everything fades to black.

SeriesFantasy
Like

About the Creator

Katarzyna Crevan

Hi! I enjoy writing and have been writing for some years now. I hope you enjoy my writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.