Fiction logo

A Dream of the Future

A Short Fiction Story

By Terri AllenPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
2

I have always had really vivid dreams, I could literally see the future in them. Everything that happened in my dreams seemed to become a reality. It started off small, a simple dream lasting a few seconds. I was in school and the boy I had a crush on had forgotten to bring a pen to class. I let him borrow one of mine. A few days later it came true.

This caused me to start trusting my dreams more than anything else. Because of my dreams I found out that my long term boyfriend was cheating on me. My dreams showed me exactly what he was doing and sure enough when I went through his phone late at night, knowing which apps to check, I found all the proof I needed.

It helped me on tests in University, how to answer questions in job interviews and scared me away from any potential love interests that didn’t have my best interests at heart.

That was why when I started to have dreams of destruction that I fully believed that all of the horrors I saw at night were going to come true.

It started in the Summer, the dreams.

Dreams of fire raining from above, me trapped in a room looking out the window as the world burned. The thing that scared me the most was that when I was looking at it through my dream selfs eyes I wasn’t scared, I wasn’t panicked. I was smiling, I was happy.

Every night those dreams came to me and every time I woke up I tried to convince myself that for once my dreams weren’t to be trusted, they weren’t coming true. All of my other dreams stopped, the only future I saw was that of burning, blood, screaming and death.

After a month, as the wind started to get colder and the flowers started to die, I knew that the time in my dream was approaching so I decided to let my friend know what happened.

I tried for hours to explain that for years my dreams had been portals into the future, how I did so well because the dreams told me prior to the events how things would go down. I remember looking at her face and I could see the concern on it. She didn’t believe me.

The Autumn weather turned into Winter weather and the panic was setting in further and further. I just knew that I had almost run out of time. I don’t know how but I did know that Winter was the time where everything would turn to shit.

I started to tell more people and more people, I would stay awake for days and if I did fall asleep I would wake up screaming.

It got to the point where my parents needed to send me away.

And so here I sit, in a white room with the door locked from the outside.

It was the dead of night, I hadn’t slept in four days and had started mumbling to myself constantly throughout the day.

“It's time. It's time.”

Then I see a spark of light in the sky outside the window. I push my tired limbs off of the bed and stumble my way over to the window. By the time I crossed the distance the small light I had seen had turned into a raging inferno.

It was time. There were flaming rocks falling from the sky.

No one had believed me and now it was here.

I didn’t even realise at first that I was smiling.

No one had believed me and now I could stand here and watch as the whole world burned to dust.

thrillerShort StorySci FiMysteryHorrorFantasy
2

About the Creator

Terri Allen

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.