Fiction logo

A Drabble Here and a Drabble There!

A future, a frame and a listen

By Denise E LindquistPublished 4 months ago 2 min read
5
A Drabble Here and a Drabble There!
Photo by James Healy on Unsplash

I Have a Shorter Future Than Many ! Is it wrong to talk about this? Some think so.

Fiction Shorts - Random Word Drabble - Future

Photo by Pedro Kummel on Unsplash

My future is less than many. I have health issues and I am old. None of us know when our time is up. However, I have been around for a long time and many of my friends and all my ‘old people’ are gone. I have a will and my funeral is planned.

I am ready to go home, I am not afraid to die. It is reasonable to believe my time is shorter than many. I retired a while ago. I talked with my family about ten years of retirement. That has come and gone. What do you suggest?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

It Was a Frame Up! I didn’t do it!

Fiction Shorts - Daily Random Word Drabble — Frame

By Ace Maxwell on Unsplash

Just look at me! Do I look like someone who would break into a nursing home and rob everyone there with a shotgun? What could I expect to get? Why wouldn’t I rob a place where wealthy people live? Did you see the pitiful place and the items that were stolen?

I respect my elders! I would never rob my own elders! If I were to rob, I would be more like Robin Hood. Rob from the rich and give to the poor! But here I sit. I am in for longer than people who murder someone. I was framed!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

"Listen To Me Linda" Was the Funniest and Most Frustrating Thing on Video! My daughter said, "Mom we need to get on the same page!"

Fiction Shorts - Daily Random Word Drabble - Listen

By Nick Fewings on Unsplash

My daughter came at me with this tirade: At Grandpa's house, we can have cookies for breakfast. At Grandma's house, we can stay up late. At Grandpa's house, we have target practice and ride snowmobile and go-kart.

Grandpa lets us watch R-rated movies.

I can explain that the rules are different here and they are different in other places too! No target practice or riding snowmobile at school for example.

Listen, Linda, you say that rules can be like grandpas just occasionally. Just now and then, there are special times, and you can get the grandpa rules!

She looked at me!

By Ben White on Unsplash

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

First published by Fiction Shorts on medium.com - challenges, 100 word drabbles.

MicrofictionShort Story
5

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    Hahahahahahhahahaha I still remembet that Listen, Linda video! I loved these stories! You should write more fiction!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.