Fiction logo

A Deadly cure.

The untold story... chapter 3.

By DihashPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like
A Deadly cure.
Photo by Evie S. on Unsplash

Chapter 3:

previously... (As her husband was trying to kill her but she always resisted. But now...)

I was trying to digest what the woman on the bed had just said as my mind was racing. Was this man indeed attempting to murder his wife? And was I a pawn in his perverse game that he was playing?

I searched the space for a route out as I peered about. The windows, however, were out of my reach and the entrance was locked.

In the hopes that she could provide me with further details, I turned back to the woman.

How did he treat you? I questioned, attempting to keep my tone neutral.

She answered, scarcely raising her voice above a whisper, “I don’t know. “I imagine it’s some sort of poison. I’m not sure how he did it, but it made me feel awful.”

I inhaled deeply as I tried to come up with a strategy and determination.

I said, “Can you move at all?”

She gave a feeble headshake.

She remarked, “I can hardly lift my arm.”

In an effort to locate something that may assist me, I looked about the room. I then noticed a syringe on the nightstand close to the bed.

I carefully approached it in the hopes that it may hold anything that could assist the woman.

Yet when I took it in my hands, I sensed something odd. There were barely a few letters still visible after the label had been pulled off.

P-E-R-I-L.

As I understood what this meant, my heart sunk. I wasn’t brought here by a man who was searching for a treatment for his wife. He was searching for a method to murder her.

I felt a wave of rage come over me as I turned to face the woman on the bed.

I said, “I’ll get you out of here.” “But you must have courage for me. Can you accomplish that?”

I moved towards the door, prepared to tear it down if necessary, and she gave me a feeble nod.

Nevertheless, I heard footsteps in the corridor before I even reached for the handle.

As the door opened, I retreated and made an effort to blend into the darkness.

With a menacing grin on his face, the man in the fedora entered the space.

He added with a venomous tone, “I see you’ve met my wife.

I remained silent since I didn’t know what to say.

But the person lying in bed spoke.

She continued, her voice full of a resolve that belied her frail state, “You’re going to pay for what you’ve done.

I felt my skin crawl as the man laughed cruelly.

He moved forward her, asking, “Is that so?

I tightened up, prepared to step in if needed.

The woman on the bed suddenly jerked the syringe out of my hand and inserted it into the man’s neck before I had a chance to react.

When he collapsed to the ground, he lurched backwards while grabbing at his throat.

With a slight smile on her face, the woman turned to face me.

Before her eyes closed and she slept off, she whispered, “Thank you.”

I was unclear of what to do next as I stood there. Yet one thing was obvious: I had to go right away…

SeriesMystery
Like

About the Creator

Dihash

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.