Fiction logo

A Day In The City

The Night Is Young

By Alexander PopePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

We are going for drinks tonight! Let's get excited. Who's going to be there? Didn't I tell you? Obviously not if I'm asking. Remember her? Oh no. Oh yes. Why did you invite her? It's been years since you two have seen each other so what's the big deal? Well, it hasn't been years. It's been maybe a week? You've been dating her this whole time and never said anything!? No, I'm not dating anyone. Wait, timeout....explain yourself. Well, it's a long story. So, tell me while we wait. Fine, but first, who's she coming with? Also, aren't we meeting the guys here too? You're overthinking things. Let's just get in here and have a drink and talk while we wait for everyone. Sure, so it was at the wedding.

Wait, you mean THE wedding? Yes, that wedding. Do you want to know the story or not? Of course I do. I'm just shocked that that's where it all began. Well, what can I say; it was a magical night for everyone. So, it was about 10 mins before the start of the ceremony and everyone was finishing their conversations and finding their seats. Wait, you were the best man at the wedding, so how did that even happen? Will you just let me explain? So anyways, there I was finishing up my conversation with a nice guy who, btw I think was hitting on me. But, that story is for another day.

So anyways, I was getting ready to walk to the back to get in position. I could’ve sworn she was talking to me when she said “you have to stop and think before you do things.” So, I turned around and said “excuse me?” She then says “well, looks like I have another groupie.” Wait, I have so many questions. Within 10 minutes, you’ve decided to start a conversation at random with some stranger? Why was this on your mind? Will you please just let me tell the story!? You do realize the girls will be here any minute, right? Sigh, let’s hear it then.

Now, you have to remember, I’m walking back to get in position for the wedding. I can’t really stand around talking all day with some random chick. So, as I got called a groupie, I just ignored her and walked away. But, she wouldn’t let it be. She ended following me as I was walking back and started a random conversation about how there are so many people wanting to ‘hang’ later. I told her, “good for you. Seems like your reception will be a good one.” She then says “I’m actually with one of the groomsmen, so yeah you’re right.” So now in my mind all I’m thinking about is “I’m the ONLY single guy in this party and I’m pretty sure I’ve met all the significant others. So, who the hell is she seeing!?”

So, I just said “so you’re engaged to one of them then?” I needed to know because these fools about to get in some serious trouble. She then replies “my status is free.” So, first of all, what the hell does that even mean!? But, I didn’t care. So, I asked her if she would at least save me a dance. You know, being polite. She said “sure, can’t wait.” So, we parted ways as I saw her wink in the direction of one of our friends. But, I act liked I saw nothing. But, of course it didn’t work. Stop! You need to tell me who it is now! Nope, that part is for later when we are all together.

Series
Like

About the Creator

Alexander Pope

Just a writer who is currently enjoying his imagination.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.