Fiction logo

A Change in the Stars

A YA Short Story

By CM StratfordPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
3
A Change in the Stars
Photo by Brayden Law on Unsplash

It’s drafting day. The day all 18 year olds are lined up and sent away, according to our birthdays. Well, our Zodiac signs, to be exact.

“Tai! We have to get to the ceremony on time!” My little brother called from downstairs. Ceremony day comes once a year, and he’s never been late, despite my efforts to procrastinate. I was still daydreaming about leaving Mars for a more exciting place when he called again.

“Hurry! Eddy is coming today!”

That worked. I almost forgot that family members always come back on special occasions. We hadn’t seen our oldest brother in a few years.

“Coming!” I bounded down the stairs, hopped into my boots, and took his hand. We sprinted to the fountain in the square, our parents in tow.

An hour later, I was nervously folding and unfolding the paper in my hands. My best friend, Zia, had just been assigned to Pluto. It’s the newest of all of the colonized planets. She’s a Capricorn – stubborn, determined, and practical. She loves challenges and it was her first choice, I know she’ll do great there.

“Julian Macro, Gemini.” The announcement interrupted my thoughts. A boy sitting in the row ahead of me stood, and walked to the small stage that had been erected days earlier. I could tell he was nervous. He handed his slip of paper to the announcer, she looked it over, then checked her list.

“Saturn!” She said into the microphone. His face fell, but he nodded, took the folder she handed him, and exited the stage to sit with his parents.

As the announcer kept going, I opened the paper in my hands. I hoped I had chosen wisely, and that I would like my new planet. I ran the meaning of my sign, over and over again in my head. Balance. Justice. Truth. Beauty. Perfection.

Earth seemed like the perfect fit for me. Unlike the other planets, which were full of science and engineering minded people, Earth presented different challenges. It had almost been destroyed by our ancestors. There was still occasional unrest and uprisings broke out on the major land masses. But it is known to be the most beautiful planet, unlike anything we could ever replicate. And warm. Gosh, how I like being warm!

Saturn was my next choice, it seemed the most interesting to me. Everyone lived below the surface, but it was supposed to have the most beautiful underground landscapes ever built. One of my books in school was solely about the plants that cover every inch of tunnel surface.

My third choice: Venus. I looked stupidly at the paper. I only picked it because it was hot, and none of the other planets seemed stimulating enough to me. Venus had water issues. Despite our advanced technology across the galaxy, on Venus, everything is always in a state of chaos. I wasn’t sure I was quite up for the challenge of constant maintenance and mundane tasks.

The boy next to me stood, and took his place on the stage. I missed his name, though I should’ve known it from having so many classes together. Miles, maybe?

“Saturn!” Was announced, and he was handed a folder from the Saturn bin. He grinned, all of his teeth showing. It must’ve been his first choice.

“Tai Ashcroft, Libra.” I watched her lips form the words, but my ears were filled with the sound of pulsing blood. Butterflies swarmed in my stomach the entire walk to the stage. I looked up into the announcer’s grey eyes, and handed her my slip of paper. She smiled kindly as she took it.

She read my choices and carefully checked her list. I noticed my name on the page, with just two options next to it. My heart skipped a beat, but before I could lean any closer, she tucked the list under her arm and announced, “Earth!”

There was a small applause from the audience. Had they been doing that the whole time? I looked back at the announcer, as she shook my hand and handed me a folder. It seemed thicker than the ones other people had received.

Dashing over to my parents, they congratulated me on being the third person destined for Earth in the last two years. My oldest brother, Eddy, wrapped me in a tight hug, it was so nice to see him again.

As the ceremony continued, I gripped the folder tightly and stared at the photo of my future planet on the cover. It would no longer be a star in the distance.

What will I do there? Will I even like it? Thoughts whirled through my head at what seemed a million miles an hour.

I couldn’t wait to find out.

A Change in the Stars is just the beginning of what I hope one day will be a full length novel. Until then, I hope you enjoy the start of my story!

Sci Fi
3

About the Creator

CM Stratford

When I was a little girl, I was the first one on the bus in the morning. Most kids, I think, hated living on the outskirts of town. But I lived for it. This is where I started dreaming up stories, and have never wanted to stop.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    Omg this was so interesting! I hope you'll continue to post more parts here

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.