Fiction logo

500 Pounds of Pasta

Fiction Inspired by a bizarre true story.

By Sean PatrickPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
2

I didn’t cry until I saw the pasta. 500 pounds of uncooked pasta hidden away in mom’s pantry. Handmade, the pasta maker is still dusted with powder. Until now I had managed to not miss mom. But knowing she’d spent endless hours making pasta she’d never get to share with her family, friends, and community, finally broke me. Was she cooking for an entire branch of the military when she died? I have no idea. I also have no idea what I am going to do with 500 pounds of uncooked pasta. The absurdity turns crying into laughing. Classic Mom.

Short Story
2

About the Creator

Sean Patrick

Hello, my name is Sean Patrick He/Him, and I am a film critic and podcast host for the I Hate Critics Movie Review Podcast I am a voting member of the Critics Choice Association, the group behind the annual Critics Choice Awards.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • JBaz11 months ago

    Nice, emotional and funny Well done

  • Kendall Defoe 11 months ago

    I'm hungry...and sad... Well done, sir!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.