Fiction logo

3024

Rebuilding towards a better tomorrow through time.

By Brynn PearsonPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
1
3024
Photo by Nathan Duck on Unsplash

WAKE UP! WAKE UP! TESTING STARTS IN 15 MINUTES! Waking up to the blaring PA system made me more frightened and confused. Where am I? How did I get here? I kept pondering this as I slowly got up from my seat. Testing in 10 minutes, blared the system again. Test? What test? I continue looking around for any hint as to where am I and what is expected of me. Finally, I noticed a sliding door at the end of the lighted aisle… a train! I am on a train! The realization just prompted more questions, where are we headed, where are the other passengers and the biggest, how did I get here. Through my brain fog I began looking out the windows; finding only blackness with shadows that were either abnormally tall people, or tress. I continue down the aisle looking for any other passengers or anything with an indication of what test this PA is talking about. TESTING IN 5 MINUTES! The PA notified me again. I finally approach the end of the aisle, and as I reach to open the door to the next carriage, ]with a slight hope there may be other people on the other side] a letter catches my eye:

Mr. Felix Resol; welcome to your sector test, you have the mark of our time heroes and we have been monitoring you since birth. Now that you are 18 years old it is time. You must complete each era in 40 minutes and solve the riddles or clues to secure your future in this heroic sect. You were destined for this job. If you can not complete this test successfully, you will not return alive to Emotis.

 Best of luck, Chancellor Malek Maddox

I thought of my friends and family in my sect, and how I need to succeed to see everyone again. Also, on my mind was how my parents could keep this from me all these years. How they couldn’t at least give me a heads up. Like ‘hey son, at age 18 you’ll awake on a mysterious and creepy train, facing a series of unknown tests and if unsuccessful you face imminent death… well of best of luck’. I would have accepted anything other than being blindsided and possibly drugged. After I processed the letter and all that was hidden from me, I am now ready to begin. Upon opening the next carriage door, it is the roaring 20s!

There was a bright red clock counting down from forty minutes as soon as the door shut behind me. There are four main sections of the carriage, it is up to me to figure out which main historical events these are and whether I would use my powers to intervene. I headed over to the front left, where stood a group of female figurines, the constitution of old America, and a riddle stating, “I was a reform to a man’s world”. After pondering all the clues, I concluded with women’s suffrage, where I chose not to use my powers of intervention! This is easy I thought to myself, nothing to worry about! Moving to the back left corner, hung a white robe on a cross, small statues of white and black persons, and the letter K. I concluded the rise of the KKK I would where I would most certainly invoke my powers. Proceeding to the next two, I uncovered the Ponzi scheme and the invention of radio. The Ponzi scheme proved to be an unfortunate event in old Americas an intervention seems appropriate. The advent of radio however, indicated no need to interpose, as I don’t believe it led to the end of the old Americas.

I finished the 1920 era with 10 minutes to spare and moved on to the proceeding carriage: 1940’s. As a student this particular period was a strength in history class, where we learned about the fall of old Americas. I am hopeful for my success. Starting at what looked to be the most straightforward puzzle to solve, there is a German flag, the Star of David, Rosie the riveter, and a swastika. Aha it’s WW2! I of course chose intervention, not only was it detrimental to America, but catastrophic on a global scale. Continuing with confidence I move to the Hiroshima and Nagasaki bombings, which I was able to surmise from a Japanese flag and a miniature bomb replica. I was able to determine that I would intercede knowing the devastation old Americas caused with their ruthless decision. The last two momentous occasions solved were the formation of the UN and the first nonstop flight around the word, where I feel just letting history take its course is appropriate.

So far, I am assured in my progress, but I must keep reminding myself not to get too cocky as they surely wouldn’t make such an important test this easy to pass. I have now entered the third carriage, displaying the 1960s era. I solved two events where intervening would not have influenced, in any great manner, the demise of old Americas. These incidents were the assassination of Martin Luther King Jr., and John F. Kennedy. Two other era defining moments, the completion of the Trans-Canada highway, and the Berlin wall, require intervention as they augmented the end of old Americas as they knew it. I was able to solve this challenge in 35 minutes.

I use the 5 minutes I have remaining to sit and reflect. Going through the carriages in such a zone of wanting to complete and leave this creepy train I neglected to contemplate the weight of every decision. My strategy is to take the event and if it augmented the fall of old Americas I should intervene. I also fear the end because I assumed the train would be stopping or slowing as I completed the test, however we have not once demonstrated either scenario. As I continue sitting and overthinking the PA system reminded me, PLEASE CONTINUE TO THE NEXT CARRAIGE.

The 1980s, wow I think this is the brightest carriage here. The first set of clues has a Beatles poster, circle glasses, and a gun… John Lennon! Additionally, in this 80s era carriage, I observed a factory, smoke, and nuclear symbol: the Chernobyl disaster. I chose to take action on these. The two following puzzles led Terry Fox, and Sandra Day O’Connor which I deemed both as beneficial and inspirational, I felt that interceding wasn’t necessary.

As I approach the last carriage, I could feel my heart racing faster and my breathing became labored. I walked over to the first section of the 2000-2234 era, where I saw a table with two towers, and a plane, requiring no more evidence I ascertained that this was 9/11. I never displayed more urgency for action than I did here. This carriage being the biggest in that it contains what I believe are some of the most influential and infamous incidents leading to the collapse of the old Americas, making me dissect each thought before my selection. Putin and Covid were two other fateful incidents where I deemed a reaction was necessary due to the catalytic effect. The only event I decide no intervention is required was the global recession.

TEST COMPLETED, PROCEED TO LAST CARRIAGE demanded the system. I tried to slow my breathing, and my palms grew sweatier as I reluctantly step towards the door. As the door opens, I see a pretentious looking man sitting in a chair with a dead, soulless glare in his eyes. I stay standing as I shakily ask him for my results, still wondering why the train hasn’t even slowed down. He looked at the screen placed in front of him then expressionlessly right back at me. I now feel my heartbeat in my chest as if it were about to pop right out. Suddenly, I hear footsteps approaching from behind me then *BANG*.

TEST FAILED, NEXT SUBJECT.

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.