Families logo

Your IG Baby

So cute..

By Vanessa HansonPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
photo credit: Fotolia

Yes. Your baby is the friggin cutest. You should flaunt them on your Instagram. I know, I know, some people have feelings about that. Some people make efforts to hide their baby to protect their privacy. Unfortunately, we live in a world where that should be a concern. Social media is still one big experiment and privacy is still a huge issue. I am pretty open on social media, my account is not private. I decided since I am already sharing my life, my son is a huge a part of that so yes, I will share his adorable photos.

I have also seen people start separate accounts for their babies, much like cute puppies and pets have their own account. That may be a bit much. Don't make that decision for them. OK?

There's also the gross word we all hate to see as it relates to social media. Authenticity. I know. I threw up a little as I wrote it. I feel that the best baby photos are those action shots or cute moments that there are so many of. Not a perfectly posed, clearly staged photo. Don't get me wrong, there is a time and a place. If you're spending that money on an expensive photographer, then by all means, share that photo shoot! If you had a moment of creativity where you put your sleeping baby in a beautiful scene, yes, let's see it! But also remember that there is no obligation. You don't owe anyone these photos. I can't tell you how many posts I've seen where moms say "I'm so sorry I'm soooo behind on these! Ack forgive me, so busy, blah blah blah." I'm telling you no one is thinking to themselves, "Hmm little baby Jamie turned 4 months today and yet I have not seen their photo with their exact weight, favorite reads and time of day." No. One. That's just for you.

I shamelessly flaunt my baby on my personal account. Why? Because he's the freaking cutest and everyone should see. I do often wonder though, what that will mean for him in the future. Will he appreciate it? Will he think it was a violation of his privacy? Will Instagram even be what it is now? Probs not. I also wonder what it means for babies who are growing up with a phone constantly in their face. Taking video and photo of their every move. My little guy hams it up as soon as he sees me whip out my phone. I'm even launching a video series that will center around him.

As a new, millennial, Latina mom this is all uncharted waters. This was not the case for me growing up. Sure, there are plenty of family albums with my baby photos in it, but it's not at the level I am throwing my kid in. We also couldn't afford a video camera so there are no home videos of my first steps, words etc. Frankly, I'm OK with that. I am also grateful that I didn't grow up with social media in my adolescence. It came much later via MySpace. Ha! Facebook was a college thing and very much my decision. I wonder how I would feel if I already had a brand laid out for me by my parents. Is this what happens to kids who grow up privileged? And they don't want to "follow in the footsteps of my father!"? To be clear, I am not laying out what I think my son should be, he can make that decision himself when the time comes.

There are so many things to consider, learn and navigate as a new parent. I am hoping that this is a small, harmless part of it.

social media
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.