Families logo

Women who inspire

The woman who inspires me

By SavannahPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Women inspiring women is such a powerful thing isn’t it? From parenting to sex work; women are always inspiring other women, breastfed to bottle fed to sharing other women’s business pages on social media to visiting sex workers at their workplace and tipping them; everyday I see posts about how inspiring it is to be a woman.

But what those posts don’t include are the struggles those women went through to become the who they are today. So I’m going to share the story of the woman who inspires me the most in this world; and that is my aunt. Just thinking about the things she has been through is inspiring enough, let alone how she puts a smile on her face everyday.

She married young and had 2 beautiful children, little did she know that her now ex husband would turn for the worst. He was not only abusive towards her, financially, physically and emotionally. She got the courage to leave him with her children and had nothing, she made a life for herself and raised her children and allowed him access. Things then started happening to her children while in his care by him, which is disgusting to even think how a father could abuse his children like the way he did.

She has fought child services and the law to put him behind bars and yet he still walks free. I flew to the country she lived in while I was going through a bad patch in my teenage years, while I was living with her her ex husband tried blaming her and turned the whole situation around, she then had to fight harder; and boy did she fight.

I’m now much older and looking back on her trials and her downfalls I have seen a Phoenix rise from the ashes. She is raising her children to believe that they can achieve anything in this world, she has been there for everyone else and put everyone else above her. She has taught me what it is to be a mother to daughters as I never had a good relationship with my own mother. This woman deserves so much more than what I can give her but little does she know that I’m flying over to her next year hopefully and I’ll be giving her a thousand dollars. I know she won’t want the money but she has recently been scammed with a rental property and lost more than that and now she is struggling again but this amazon woman still puts a smile on her face and makes it a joke because she’s always looking on the positive side of life.

She doesn’t share her story on social media, she doesn’t share it on a blog. She shares her story in how she raises her children and how she in a way raises me. She is the woman I aspire to be, a woman who even in the face of hell she stares back and defies it and comes out stronger; and she always will come out stronger because she has me on her side. To be honest it has taken me years to figure out how she does it but reading the title I hope you can see that she is a woman who inspires, I hope that anyone reading this post who has been through something similar then look deep within yourself and see the Phoenix that is within yourself and let her rise, because you are beautiful and strong and like my favourite quote by Eleanor Roosevelt “No one can make you feel inferior without your consent”.

- Savannah x

extended family
Like

About the Creator

Savannah

Writing about what it’s like to work in the sex industry in Australia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.