Families logo

Women that Inspire

My sisters

By Sustainable ScottPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
My Sister

This is a story to honour my sister. She is the most amazing woman I’ve ever had in my life and I’m not just saying that.

My brother and I were raised by our mother for the first 7 years of our life. We also had 4 sisters all adult age when were were born.

Our sisters were always in our life and gave us love beyond measure.

When my brother and I were 7 years old. Our mom decided she was no longer able to take care of us because of her medical condition and age . Our sister decided to raise us as her own.

Granted our sister was always there for us when we were born. Eventually she moved away to Texas . Our mother decided to move to Texas to get closer to our sister . When we were 7 , our mom left us with our sister and she raised us as her own. She was 20 years older than us and proved to be the best mother any kid could dream of.

The early 90s style outfits were supreme .

When we were growing up, my sister taught us above all else the value of LOVE. That Love between family is unlimited . She spend the next 13 years raising us as her children. Let alone she had her own career and went above and beyond anything a person could expect from a sister raising her brothers. She always provided for us .

Our sister never let us go to bed angry. It was a rule we had , anytime we got upset or got into trouble as two young boys would , she taught us to always forgive one another before sleep so we never went to bed angry.

Lucky for us we also had 3 other amazing sisters to inspire us.

Our sisters gave us so much love , it was unbelievable.

Even though our mother was an amazing woman herself, she was a court reporter and worked in media . Everyone knew her as a extremely intelligent woman who’s age and life’s choices brought some pain. She however did Help raise 4 amazing girls and two boys . And later in her life brought so much peace to people struggling with alcohol addiction. It also led to her early death. However there is a overwhelming amount of people that would speak to her kindness and compassion for others . Especially in her late age before she passed.

By looking at the pictures people can definitely tell how much we were loved.

When I was old enough my sister inspired me to join Civil Air Patrol , it was definitely a cool experience, learning how to find the black boxes from crashed airplanes and visiting the Huston space center .

When I was about 12 years old, I was mowing lawns for money during the summer. My sister gave me the greatest idea to go to all our neighbors and charge them 20$ a week to mow their lawns and water their yards every morning. It was my first work experience, and I had about 10 neighbors on our street , I woke up every morning and watered their lawns at 6 am. It was a truly good experience to teach me the value of work ethics and how to deal with people. It truly shaped who I am today, as all my bosses in my life in every job, would recommend me further . I can’t help but think it all started at 12 years old when my sister taught me the value of work ...

At 17 years old , I joined the army. And of course my sisters were there to support me when I graduated.

For a young man to be loved and supported by his family is the greatest of all feelings . For me , I will forever be greatful to my sister for raising me as her own, and giving me all the love and support to be my greatest version.

To know that she loved us since we were born , and was always there with our other sisters , it’s one of the most beautiful feelings , to describe to others , you don’t have to be the real parents of children to raise them as your own and give them the best life possible.

Even now as an adult , my sisters still continue to inspire me to be my greatest version. They all were college educated, and my oldest sister even went on to get her PHD. To have family that inspires is truly a blessing . One that shaped and moulded me since I was young.

Even now , I live in Australia, and my sister in Texas. She still helps me with my mail, and regulary stays in contact. I know any moment I call her , regardless of how she’s feeling , she will always offer wisdom , insight , a positive approach and understanding to the world . She is literally the most positive person I’ve ever met , and no matter what’s going on with me, she’s always been there . I can not express how loved and greatful I am to her , and my other sisters who’s love never seems to end.

I went on to serve my country , and spent a year in Iraq as an Infantryman , and all the while my sister sent me many care packages and had a bumper sticker on her car saying half her heart was in Iraq. Never more did I feel so loved and greatful , to have such wonderful women in my life.

The very love she showed me , I try to show to others . To let them know , I was loved and I love in return. Because of my sisters , I know we are love and love is the most sustainable force in the universe.

For all the women out there who raise children, the mothers , the sisters , the grandmothers , I salute you. You build the world , you make men great. If it were not for these women the world would be a very harsh place. Of course Fathers have their place too. But today we honour these women !!! The world owes its greatness to these women!

siblings
1

About the Creator

Sustainable Scott

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.