Families logo

Women in Pakistan

SEXUAL REPRESSION

By Hussain Soomro Published 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Sexual Repression

Woman's life is misery in Pakistan, and this is a fact that our country ignores like many other facts. Rape, domestic violence, honor killing, and different hardcore topic are taboo to be discussed, but the reality is that they are increasing every day, and there is no sufficient work done to stop the stuff.

Women, especially in Pakistan, or say in the sub-continent, are brought up in a social structure where "Sex" is a taboo. Before marriage, it's deadly, but even after marriage, it's something that's not to be discussed openly. Even the married couples face so much after marriage regarding sex, but they have no one to discuss, or they are not allowed to discuss it as it is against the social norms. When things get worse and need a phycologist, religious tricksters are called to handle the matters instead of a psychologist.

HYPOCRICY

HYPOCRISY IN PAKISTAN AND SUB-CONTINENT

Sex is a primary part of our lives. It's as clear as crystal, but the sub-continent is a highly hypocritical society where you are forced to do things according to the norms. Here, the problem arises. I still remember when I first asked my parents how I came here in this world and where I was before? They replied with a very familiar story. I believe we all have heard. "A fairy came from the skies and delivered me." I guess this story was the inspiration behind the delivery business modules we have today.

Jokes apart, but it tells us how conservative our society is. We think it's a joke, or it's as simple and innocent as it sounds. When we think critically, we come to a very dangerous conclusion.

JOINT FAMILY SYSTEM

JOINT FAMILY SYSTEM

Another problem in our society is "The joint family system." The joint family system is praised and encouraged in Pakistan as the very best norm of our culture. People in our community tell the benefits of this system and say the WEST is not having this system. That's why they are in an unseen social crisis with no significant signs or facts to prove it a crisis. The joint family system is "The best concept" that has destroyed the basic concepts of privacy, freedom of speech, and tolerance. It's the basic training for being an extremist.

Once I was in a friend's house for a night's stay, and he was newly married. I was there with my wife. I experienced something hilarious and dangerous at the same time. The newly married couple went into their private room and locked it. The girl's mother-in-law stated in front of my wife that," Look, beta, he has young brothers sitting in home, and they have locked the room. Is this good?" When my wife told me about this, I was honestly laughing like hell. I told my wife his every younger brother has girlfriend(s) and that lady knows everything about those "LITTLE KIDS." Just imagine how hypocritical we are. This is how a joint family creates a sense of guilt in something so normal and natural.

SEX AND GUILT

SEX AND GUILT CONNECTED TO IT

"An aware person is better than an unaware person." But, our hypocritical society is totally against this fact and acts according to the norms. I have seen girls in my school, damn nervous and tensed on their first menstrual bleeding. I was myself very unaware of this fact at that time, but today when I go back to my past and think about this, I feel how illogical and senseless creatures we are. My mom was making the same mistake with my younger sister, but I told her everything as being a brother because I didn't want my sister to face that chaos.

When we do such illogical acts, somewhere in our unconscious, we create a sense of guilt for the word "SEX." This sense of guilt ruins our intimacy and feelings in sex. And our frustration gets out in something else. We want to do it, but we don't like to be honest!

THINK OUT OF THE BOX

WOMEN NEED TO THINK OUT OF THE BOX

I understand most of my readers will label me a liberal or, even worse, an anti-state and anti-Islam feminist. But, today, I want my ladies to think out of the box, and I want them to understand their upbringing faults, and they would have to change it from the roots, or else they will face the same problems for another decade or a century.

Change your perspective of harassment. If someone says, "You are looking good." Or "You have a glorious personality." Etc. It is not harassment at all! If someone is ruining your privacy, that's harassment. If someone is body-shaming you, that's harassment.

I am incredibly sorry for speaking the truth, Females in Pakistan. I believe this is the best example of "SEXUAL REPRESSION" in females. "I AM AGAIN SORRY FOR BEING HONEST." But, if you feel every compliment about you is related to something fishy, you need to get rid of this "STUFF" on your mind that always takes you to this result. Why do you always think that someone is complimenting you to harass you? And why do you ignore the domestic violence that you are facing? Why don't you stand against the family members that are ruining your privacy? Why don't you stand with the rape victims openly? Why don't you stand against the family system that's intoxicating your life by interfering in your private matters?

CONCLUSION

Whenever I open my SOCIAL MEDIA, I always have a newsfeed filled with bullshit screenshots about harassment and guilt. The fact is you are destroying someone's character on just a compliment! Don't you think this is much more than harassment? Women should take things on a lighter note and stand on the facts that are really ruining their lives. The women in our society are the worst enemy of themselves. This extreme sense of piousness is ruining your career relation and everything else around you.

THINK POSITIVE, AND PLEASE GET RID OF THIS TYPICAL BULLSHIT CONCEPT OF HARASSMENT AND GUILT!

advice
Like

About the Creator

Hussain Soomro

Digital marketer, content creator, influencer, Enhancing brand presence for multiple companies. Worked on international and national campaigns. Inhouse, clientside, and outsourcing experience of handling tasks. A leader, not a manager.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.