Families logo

Wilson The Success

By: Jess A. Fox_J.A.F

By Jessica A. FoxPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 9 min read
Like

Wilson, born January 1st, in a presidential suite at his father’s promotion party, would say blessings are more than a reality if you believe. Picture a room full of board directors and accountants, dining, drinking, and talking of how their futures are only going up from here; it’s a UFC fight night type of party. Jonica, who is Wilson’s mother, is by the bar with John, his father. Jonica is verbalizing how proud she is of him, and as he says thank you, Jonica’s water breaks. Now here is where it gets interesting; they didn’t even know they were expecting. As the two watched each other, someone in the party scream, “OMFG, she having a baby, call 9 11” John and Jonica are still eyeing each other, and no words are shared amongst one another until the ambulance arrives.

Let me set the mood for you; you’re sitting in your place of Oasis and add more beauty to it; that would be Wilson and his friend’s current location. “No way your mom and dad will say yes. Your mom almost lost her mind at the last party since you only got 80% on that exam. Let’s be real, bro,” says Wilson’s friend. Wilson replies, “I said, I’ll make it, this exam’s in the bag, I get 90% on her pre-test I am there.” “Yeah, let’s make sure it’s the same for Shaniya. You miss her every time, bro. Step it up if you can come, or I’ll step up for myself” Wilson watches his friend and laughs and responds, “I am going to be a student who gets into Harvard, my parents are loaded, and I am driving in a car people can only dream about, you’ll replace me, no offense bro, step down.” Wilson’s friend grins and says, “I mean just had to test if that’s what you want, but we better get going because of that pre-test being not too far away, my brother. Oh, and shave.” Wilson laughs and says, “Yeah, yeah.”

Wilson opens the door to the house, and Jonica is standing by the door and says, “Yeah, yeah ma, I’ll be home for noon; where were you? I do not even want to know. You only got two hours to study before that test, and now and it is 95%.” “But ma, I have to attend this party, or my life is over.” Jonica smiles and replies, “Boy, Shaniya is not going anywhere; you know she likes you too, but you’re too coward, and I say coward because you had more than one chance. Harvard University is your future, upstairs and get the studying.” Wilson upset storms up the stairs and slams the door shut. Jonica adds, “Today is not the day to test the nerves that say if you go out or not, just remember that next time you call yourself slamming doors in my house.” Wilson is now huffing and puffing and getting no studying down. His friend calls and says, “So how’s the studying? Shaniya is coming at 11 pm but leaving at 12 because she has something.” Wilson instantly opens his book and says, “Yeah, yeah, I am coming,” and hangs up. Many would say it is crazy to tell a human can motivate someone to do anything and everything, but Shaniya was enough. An hour later, he gets 100% on his pre-test, and he is on his way to the party.

Wilson is at the table with his friends, drinking and playing dominos, “I hope she shows up, I got the courage today, she the reason I got 100% bro, you sure you heard right?” His friend replies, “Yes, just keep the courage; maybe she busy making herself extra cute for you, patience brother.” Then suddenly, Wilson’s face turns bloodshot red. His friend smiles and says, “She just walked in, didn’t she? Go get her, bro.” Wilson jumps up, and says’s “it’s the moment of truth,” he takes a shot and heads to Shaniya. As Jonica said, Shaniya likes Wilson too; therefore, they hit it off right away. So Wilson decided he would be the one to bring her home. As they are leaving, Wilson drops to the floor and is sent to the hospital by ambulance.

Wilson and his parents are inside a Dr’s office, and Jonica is pacing around until the Dr comes in. The Dr opens his office door, and Jonica instantly says, “What’s wrong with my baby?” The Dr says, “Please take a seat, mam. I am sorry to announce your son has a brain tumor that seems untreatable by surgery, but we’re making calls to the best Dr’s we know if we have your approval?” “YES” shouts Jonica “what a stupid question,” she adds. At that very moment, Wilson’s cellphone rings, and on the screen, it reads Harvard University. Wilson looks at his mom and dad but could not fight himself to pick up the phone. John grabs the phone and picks up “Hello.” On the other end, a deep voice says, “Hi Wilson, this is the dean for the law program at Harvard University; we’re pleased to announce early admission to you and hope you would be willing to attend a tour of our campus next month.” John instantly drops the cell phone and starts to cry. “What’s wrong, John?” says Jonica. No words volleyed between the two for a minute. “John?” she screams again. John then stands tall and says’s “our son just got accepted into Harvard University and just found out he has a tumor they might not be able to treat; what’s wrong? everything.” Wilson jumps up from the chair and storms out of the room. The Dr tells his parents, “we’re going to be calling the best Dr’s we know. Keep the courage.”

Wilson is sitting in the backyard talking to his friend on the phone: “It has already been a full year bro, Harvard won’t hold me forever. I can’t keep putting Shaniya through this either. I am a burden. I have to leave her, but I can’t, but I know she can have so much better.” Wilson’s friend instantly responds, “you are not yourself; you need to keep the courage. Shaniya is a real one, bro. She wants to help you. And you got early admission, accepted before they even received your final grade, they will hold, trust me.” Then, as his friend says, trust me, a loud beep occurred, and something came crashing into the yard, making a big bang. “WILSON” Screams Jonica. “I am alright, ma; look what just fell from the sky.” Jonica opens the back door and says, “What is it?” “I don’t know, but it’s shining like gold,” replies Wilson. “Bring it to the garage until tomorrow. After that, we will bring it to the station.” Jonica walks towards the back door and says, “I said garage aye.”

Wilson, still excited about the find, heads to the garage to check the item. Once on the table, Wilson opens the jar like a container, and he finds liquid and a heart-shaped chain locket. He went to put his hands into the liquid, grab the chain and the lid shut, and a piece of paper was there. Wilson began to read <This poem is to be read, and then the liquid is put onto your tongue, and you make a wish. Any wish, as long as it does not include Love, Money, or death…> Wilson says, “Any wish aye, I guess a try won’t hurt.” Wilson then reads the poem, adds the liquid to his tongue, and adds, “I wish my brain tumor would just go away.” Wilson waits a few minutes and feels nothing out of the norm and says “BS from space,” and slams the door of the garage that enters the home as he enters.

The following day Wilson gets woken up by Jonica running into his room screaming, “Wilson gets up, the Dr thinks they found a solution. Wilson instantly looked at the wall as he widened his eyes and said, “No way.” Jonica replies, “yes way, now move, let’s go.” John then enters the room and says, “what’s up with all the screaming?” Jonica and Wilson both at the same time say “the Dr. found a possible solution.” Wilson continues to add “its worked dad, it worked.” John raises his eyebrows and says, “Let’s wait and see what the Dr has to say; I am taking the day off and don’t say nothing; I am coming.” Jonica says while walking out of the room, “I would have said something if you didn’t take the day off.” John smiles at Jonica as he exits the room too and says, “that’s my girl.”

In the Dr’s office, they are all waiting: Jonica and John are pacing around the room while Wilson sits down and waits. “Hi everyone, how are we feeling today?” asks the Dr. who is entering the room and making his way to his desk. “Fine, we’re fine,” says Wilson, he continued to add, while fiddling, “Did it work? What’s the good news?” The Dr replies, “The good news is we found a team that is ready to remove your tumor and a team that also believes they have high chances of success. They have already removed tumors far larger and more dangerous. “YES,” Yells Wilson” he and John then look at each other and say, “Blessed, and I’m blessed.”

After two months of waiting for evaluations and having many sleepless nights due to the overall excitement of getting back the life he wanted before cancer, the day has arrived for Wilson’s Surgery. Jonica was the most excited, not to say John was not but let us say everyone knew her baby was about to be cancer-free and going back to Harvard. Yeah, that is her boo, boo. She loves to add “remember the name.” The Dr. comes with two PABs to prep Wilson for surgery. The Dr. assured the family that the community center would provide physio, nursing, and Auxiliaries work once he would return home. He adds the tumor has shrunk a lot, and he should not be saying this but sees a high success rate. Jonica screams, “Wilson, the success, that’s my baby.” John smiles, and Wilson then says, “I love you, mom” please make sure Jonica gets this. He then puts a heart-shaped locket in his mother’s hands. In it is a photo of him and Shaniya when the two first met spoke. He then looked at his father and said, “I love you too, dad.” Jonica then burst into tears and says, “You know our baby is about to be cancer-free right, all this bullshit, and know he cancer-free.” John smiles and looks up to the sky and says, “Yeah.”

“I want to thank you all for believing in me, from getting my dream girl to getting accepted to Harvard, to graduating from Harvard. My doctor first said they could not fix my cancer, and I overcame it. To my mom, who’s a badass woman. To my dad, who is the only man who can calm that woman when they said they had no cure. I love em both. To everyone who said I could and to my two future children, oh yes, Shaniya we will, on that note’ Wilson goes on his knees and says, ‘Shaniya will you marry me?” Shaniya smiles while holding her heart-shaped locket and says, “I mean, we all know I’m saying yes. Shaniya runs into his arms, and they kiss.” This story, however, ends with a twist. Wilson and Shaniya are now at Wilson’s promotion party, and her water breaks at the bar, as Jonica. Wilson looks at Shaniya and says, “Blessings are the things that push us into motivating our ego to go beyond its limits. I am so glad I went beyond mine for you and our future. I love you.”

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Jessica A. Fox

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.