Families logo

Why my sister is the Best

She gives me a reason to strive.

By Katie ShayPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
9
See you next summer Northern Nights

To my best friend and baby sister,

The day you were born, my life became infinitely more blessed. You were a little ray of sunshine, that would one day grow up to be a beautiful beam of light. If it weren't for you, I would not be who I am today. You have helped shape me since this very hot August day, 1993, and for that I am eternally grateful.

Wenatchee, WA
San Diego, CA

I can’t believe your time in Arizona is finally coming to an end, and you are moving to California to live with your first boyfriend. I am excited for you, but with a little tear in my eye. I remember when you first moved to Phoenix two years ago to live closer to me. Who knew I’d end up sleeping on the floor with you in that tiny bedroom, while we searched for a place to live together. After moving back to the valley from Payson, I had no money, no working phone, and all of my belongings stuffed in my car. Yet somehow we managed to manifest the perfect 3 bedroom house in the best neighborhood, simpily by walking on faith and having fun with it.

There were fun times.

Words can only begin to describe how grateful I am that you and I got the chance to live together for the past 2 years. Since we didn’t really get to grow up together during your teenage years, I wasn’t sure if we would ever become that close. We hardly knew each other at all until that summer we both lived in mom’s basement. I had just moved back from Portland, Oregon on my 27th birthday, and you were on summer break during college. We hung out every day and made our first little music video together. That was so much fun! I can’t believe I actually have a sister who has similar interests as me and likes to do fun creative things as much as I do. In fact, one year later you dropped out of college to follow me to Phoenix, (heh). Mom and dad didn’t approve, but you’re like me; an adventurous young woman who can’t fit the societal stigmas of today. We McQuaid’s are too wild and free for that post-college 9-5, and I love that you are similar to me in that way.

You have always been the one to support me, whether it’s letting me practice photography with you as my model, vlogging our adventures together, or listening to me read articles and blog posts that I wrote. Your feedback is always honest and unbiased, which I appreciate.

As you know, our time living together has been a rollercoaster. You were there to support me when I was going through my most challenging relationship experience to date, and words are not enough to describe how much that means to me. I know it was heavy at times, even a little scary, but you were solid like a rock and for that I am eternally grateful. I swear sometimes you are the older one. Your wisdom is above and beyond this world.

Remember when I took you to your first real festival? And then your second one? Which is where you met Caio, your soon-to-be roommate boyfriend. I am so excited for you, and proud of you for moving to San Francisco to take the leap of faith for love. I have lived with all 4 of my significant relationships, so when things get crazy or you need someone to lean on or just simply listen, you know I’m only a phone call away (and only a flight away if you really need me!)

No matter how many friends or lovers I have throughout my lifetime, I will only have one baby sister and that’s you. You were there for me when I had my heart smashed into pieces by that one boy (he who must not be named, ha!), you were there for me through my first crazy lesbian relationship (which we all know how intense that was), and you were there for me during all of the moments in between, as I went through my late-twenties life crisis of self-discovery. If all of that didn’t bring us closer, I really don’t know what would. I trust you with all of my thoughts, secrets, feelings, fears, dreams, and ideas. I know how genuinely you want me to succeed and I will always have a room just for you at my mansion when I become famous ;)

So grateful for you! Those ice cream sandwiches look delish.

Paige, you are the best thing that ever happened to me. I am so grateful mom had you seven years after she had me. She always said she wanted me to have a sister because of how much her sisters meant to her, and now I can really understand why. I know that no matter what, you love me unconditionally and vice versa. Now you are growing up and having adventures of your own, just like I did when I was your age. Next summer we will meet up at Northern Nights and dance till the sun comes up. I love you so much, and I am going to do everything I can to build my platform within the festival community to such magnitude that you can sing and perform on any stage your heart desires. Knowing what your dreams are, motivates me to accomplish mine.

Here is a tiny sliver of what we’ve been through together over the past three years. Making this video brough tears to my eyes, over and over again. You are such a beautiful bright light in the world, and I am so proud to call you my sister, and my best friend.

Love always and forever,

Your sister,

Katie

siblings
9

About the Creator

Katie Shay

Conscious Influencer

Content Creator

YouTuber

Writer

Artist

Model

Friend

@bosskatie

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.