Families logo

Why I’ve Changed My Mind on Prince Harry and Meghan Markle

I Have the Luxury to Change My Mind Without Anyone Making a Fuss. They Don't.

By ShaunPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - January 2022
16
Why I’ve Changed My Mind on Prince Harry and Meghan Markle
Photo by Eliška Motisová on Unsplash

When Prince Harry and Meghan Markle got married to the dismay of a handful of traditionalists, I didn’t think much of it. However, when they started to distance themselves from the Royal Family, I did start to feel as though there was a lack of reverence towards the Queen and the rest of the family on display.

I guess you could say that I gravitated towards becoming a firm supporter of Team Queen due to what I perceived to be a lack of respect for tradition and family ties on behalf of the newlyweds. Does that mean that the relationship between the two parties was ever so broken that “teams” were formed? I am not too sure, but the way the media portrayed the issue, I don’t think it’s much of a stretch to gather that impression.

Upon hearing the news that Harry now wishes to return to the United Kingdom in order to meet with family while providing the opportunity for his young children to spend time with their family as well, I started to reflect on just how complicated their issue is relative to other, less public families who may find themselves dealing with their own rift of sorts.

The current pressing issue is related to security concerns, and more specifically, what agency will actually provide the security detail. Financing of security for the couple was stripped when they renounced their royal titles. Harry has proposed that he personally finance the costs upon his return to the UK, however the government has stated this is unacceptable as it would open the door to other private citizens seeking to hire the police for their own purposes. It’s easy to see why this is quite the complex issue.

Needless to say, we have been told time and time again just how challenging life as a royal can be. Sure, there are elements of glitz and glamor, but the realities of intense scrutiny, massive invasions of privacy, and a host of other unsavory attributes really do ensure that the life of a royal is far from simple or straightforward.

Who among us commoners can say without a doubt that we would always be up to performing the royal responsibilities while keeping a smile on our face? I know I can’t. And what’s more, I think that whereas in the past, when the public at large tended to be highly committed and loyal to the royals, that support has shifted somewhat as more and more people grow skeptical of the value that having a royal family provides.

Getting back to the issue at hand, the average person does not require security in order to go and visit their family. As I write this, travel restrictions may absolutely interfere with plans, but the thought of private security is rarely considered except in extreme circumstances.

In this case, we have a government at odds with a citizen at odds with a royal family. Those are not odds that I would choose to bet on. The complexity of the issue and the gravity of any decision in the matter will always leave some feeling as though the wrong choice has been made.

I see how the situation just isn’t easy, and I finally understand why Harry came to feel disenchanted by the royal experience, especially considering his experiences in childhood. At first glance, he seemed to have it all. Good looks, wealth, and a precious birthright.

However, as of late, I have come to see how the “baggage” that comes along with his status is truly unenviable, and frankly would trouble just about anyone. It seems that he really does want to maintain ties with his family, and it also seems as though he wants to use his name and status in the world in order to do good. I hope he can succeed at this, and I truly hope things work out for all involved in the matter.

After all, the Queen needs some good news in light of the challenges facing her possibly deviant son at the moment.

celebrities
16

About the Creator

Shaun

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.