Families logo

Why I'm writing a Children's Book

My inspiration comes from my grandsons' imaginations.

By John CoxPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 4 min read
11
The Cover Illustration for my first Children's Book

It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye. ― Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, The Little Prince

Both of our grandsons actively engage their imaginations in their play, whether one-on-one with me or when both visit us. What would happen if their imaginings came to life?

When one of them yells, "Look out grandpa, a train," a whistle would suddenly blow, smoke billowing through the sky. How would a mystified grandfather respond to such a mind-blowing turn of events? How would you?

Both our grandsons are whirlwinds of energy: running, jumping, shouting, each fighting to control the play. Whether frolicking in our pool in the summer or on the trampoline throughout the rest of the year, it is not enough for them to simply swim and splash or jump up and down like maniacs. After all, there's adventure to be had.

I'm no slouch in the imagination department. Theoretically, I can cleverly and rationally tame the deadliest imagining. Campbell shouts "A shark!" and points at the empty grass behind the trampoline.

I shout back - "Sharks need water! No water, no sharks."

But he quickly parries, shouting - "The trampoline is filling with water," and points again in terror at the grass.

It doesn't matter how clever I am. I throw a harpoon at the shark, he declares that I missed. The game cannot continue until the shark attacks and we swim for our lives. That is after all the point of the game. We have to face the crisis, whatever it is.

I can never avoid these imagined encounters when our grandsons engage their imaginations.

Although I have toyed for years with the idea of illustrating and writing a children's book, I never really had a story concept interesting enough to put in the energy and effort of such a project. Creating the artwork alone can consume hundreds and even thousands of hours.

When my wife suggested creating one based my interactions with my grandsons Campbell (age 7) and Hunter (age 6), the idea of creating a story using their imaginings began to take shape in my mind.

But in order to create the book, I had to determine how best to create the illustrations. I started drawing caricatures in the eighth grade and cartoons even earlier. The political cartoon below shows the style that I developed while I worked as a guest cartoonist at the Columbus Ledger Enquirer in the late 1980's.

After asking Columbus to build a new stadium, the Mudcats, a minor league baseball team left town.

But after preparing a few test drawings of our eldest grandson that my wife said looked nothing like him, I knew I needed to create a completely new style for the book.

This ultimately led to investing in a high-quality art program (Rebelle 5) and computer drawing tablet (Gaomon). After several months of learning how to best to use Rebelle 5 to achieve the vision that I had for the book, I started preparing illustrations using a new style that I describe as comic realism. The illustration below was taken from the throwaway page prior to the beginning of the story.

Giving credit where credit is due. Campbell typically creates at least one book during every visit.

I loved the Dr. Suess story books as a child. His rhyme schemes create a lilting rhythm that is soothing for children and fun to read aloud. For the storytelling in my book, my goal is to create a similar rhythm while complementing the illustrations.

This illustration captures the boy's personalities. Hunter is a blur of motion, but Campbell is more subtle.

On the facing page, I begin to foreshadow what will happen in the story when their imaginations come to life.

I lay down the rules that they will not follow. Why do I even bother?

The story builds slowly to the first crisis. But once it arrives, all heck breaks loose.

Campbell cranks up the drama by imagining the first dangerous scenario.

I play the action out in the next two panels.

Naturally, the engineer is a clown. It's a toy train after all.
It's all so inevitable.

Hunter's turn is next and soon I find myself in space with a helmet that does not fit.

Grandpa's most important job. Fall guy.
What goes up must come down.

Of course, much more awaits me since the boys have barely begun. The completed book will have thirty-four illustrations. With twenty-three completed only eleven remain. I have shared a few of them to give you a sense of what the finished book will look like and look forward to sharing the completed story on Vocal. I hope to finish it sometime in March.

In the meantime, those of you who are parents, cherish your children's early years. They pass all too quickly. I know the grandparents reading my essay will not need this encouragement. Grandchildren are the best thing about growing old!

grandparentsfact or fictionchildrenart
11

About the Creator

John Cox

Family man, grandfather, retired soldier and story teller with an edge.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Bonnie Bowerman2 months ago

    Very precious moments captured in play! Loved it!

  • Test2 months ago

    Absolutely incredible. :)

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    Their imaginations are an absolute goldmine! This reminded me of "Fortunately, Unfortunately" 😁 It's so odd to see this, because I had a dream last night that I got an idea for a children's book. An AMAZING idea... and on some level I knew I was dreaming and I thought, "I must write this down as soon as I wake up..." It's been bugging me all day!

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenler3 months ago

    OMG, John, I just LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the concept, the illustrations, the fun interactions with grandpa and grandkids, and that you loved Dr. Seuss. My mom taught me to read when I was 2, and it was Dr. Seuss, for whom I still have a soft spot!! I think you may just be the next Dr. Seuss!

  • Denise E Lindquist3 months ago

    Love it and totally agree with "Grandchildren are the best thing about growing old!"😊💕❤️

  • Andrea Corwin 3 months ago

    You are a man of many, many talents!!

  • Lol, the engineer being a clown and the space helmet that doesn't fit made me laugh so much! Campbell and Hunter are so adorable and fun! Can't wait to read the completed story!

  • Test3 months ago

    Captivating journey through a grandfather's imaginative escapades with grandsons. Embracing childhood whimsy in storytelling. Adorable! Amazing job! Keep up the outstanding work......💓💖❤👍

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    Bit early for me yet, but I hope desperately that I get to be a grandparent! The boys are going to love this!

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    John, this looks amazing! I thought your profile picture had been altered somehow and now, I know I was right and how you did it! Can't wait to see the finished product. Your grandsons look like entertaining livewires! As they should be.

  • Anna 3 months ago

    Wow! I'm impressed! I love your book, keep writing!😍

  • Morgana Miller3 months ago

    What!!! Best grandpa ever! Seriously, what a treasure for your grandsons to have you in their lives, and to have this book! Your love for them shines through your writing, and I agree with you 100% on the rhyme scheme. I can still hear my grandmother's voice reading one fish, two fish or the ABC book—those lilts bring me right back.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.