Families logo

Why Doesn’t the Baby Weight Just Disappear like It Is Supposed To?

An Excerpt from I Am A Good Mom, Right?: And Other Thoughts from a (Slightly) Overwhelmed Mom of Two Small Boys

By Shelley WengerPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

If you are like me (and enjoy reading books about real-life parenting), you need to check out I Am a Good Mom, Right? And Other Thoughts from a (Slightly) Overwhelmed Mom of Two Small Boys.

Here is an excerpt from that book.

Why Doesn’t the Baby Weight Just Disappear like It Is Supposed To?

I had just started losing some of my baby weight when I got pregnant again.

At that time, I worked full time and had to be at work at six in the morning. As soon as I got home from work, I would load Cody up in the stroller and we would go for a walk, where he took his afternoon nap.

Then, when he was three months old, I stopped walking. I was so tired by the time I got home from work that I would nap when he did. A few months later, I figured out why: I was pregnant again!

I was very sick during my pregnancy, so I quit trying to do much of anything. I could hardly eat. I threw up several times a day for the whole nine months!

I couldn’t even tell you how much I gained during that pregnancy. I blocked out the scale, after it hit the two hundred mark (which happened right after Cody was born).

Evan was a very sick baby. He had jaundice, which kept us in the hospital for five days so he could stay under the lights. Then, when he finally got discharged, his color changed overnight. He had to be wrapped in a blanket of lights twenty-four hours a day for an entire week.

To help him get rid of the toxins, I had to feed him every hour or two, even throughout the night. Who has time to worry about your baby weight when you only get an hour of sleep at a time?

We got his jaundice under control, only to find out that he was anemic. This entailed several visits to the doctor and hospital for blood work every week. I felt like we were always at the doctor's office!

When he was five weeks old, Evan needed a blood transfusion because his blood count dropped extremely low. Even after his transfusion, we had to continue to monitor his blood count every few days. It stayed steady, though it was still really low. Between doctor’s appointments, lab runs, and another young son, I had no time to worry about my weight.

I did lose all of the weight that I gained during my second pregnancy, quickly and without trying. However, I stayed at the two hundred pound mark for a very long time, which felt like forever.

You see celebrities who are back to being perfect right away. Some of them even look better after their child. I know that they get paid to look that good. I am sure that they have nannies to help watch their babies so that they have time to exercise. They probably all have personal trainers to kick their butts into gear. Celebrities must be exercising all of the time. Some probably start before their doctor even gives them permission. Otherwise, how could they look that good that fast?

I know that we all have friends who do nothing and look great. Here I am, trying to walk between three to five miles several times a week, pushing a stroller. Since I don’t really have time to exercise, I make sure that I put the boys in the stroller and take longs walks to help with my weight. This is also our quality time together!

My weight loss (I am going to lose the weight from my first pregnancy) is very slow and it is driving me nuts. However, I refuse to waste a nap on exercising. It is hard enough getting the two of them to nap at the same time. When they do, I just have so many other things that I can do! I work on my business and try to make money.

Why can’t it be easy? Why won’t the weight just fall off like people say it will? Maybe in a few years, I won’t be so embarrassed to be seen in pictures.

I hope that you enjoyed my excerpt. I just want to make sure that you don’t feel so overwhelmed and alone. You aren’t. Even as my children grow, I still find myself having days that just feel like too much!

What will you get with this book? Probably more than you ever imagined! I cover a lot of topics, such as baby weight, mom friends, working, staying home, potty training, temper tantrums, and a whole lot more!

If you want to read more, don’t hesitate to head over to Amazon to check it out. It is on sale for 99 cents!

children
Like

About the Creator

Shelley Wenger

Small town country girl in southern Pennsylvania. Raising two boys on a small farm filled with horses, goats, chickens, rabbits, ducks, dogs, and a cat. Certified veterinary technician and writer at Virtually Shelley.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.