Families logo

Why? Because, Because.

My brother and the crow.

By Jayme RiosPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
3

After my mom split, it was the all about the three musketeers- Dad, Edvan, and I. Ed- my dad- drank A LOT, but we were kids, and so I guess we didn't mind. Janet- my mom- took the one vehicle we had to get around, so we walked around a lot, it was fun, mostly.

Dad said, we have to go to Carol's get your shoes on! Edvan and I were hesitant, it usually meant we would have to walk forever (2 hours and 5.7 miles by foot). Starting from home, we would walk about 2.7 miles to the China Start buffet-eat, and then another 3.0 miles to my aunts house. Dad usually carried the back pack first- it was packed with water bottles and 2- 40 oz. bottles of Budweiser.

We started our journey a while after breakfast (probably around 10 am) it was nice and breezy out. As we walked we had conversations about EVERYTHING, dad was funny, always telling jokes and making the walk fun. We stopped at the gas station for a break, we got candy and dad got another beer and a pack of cigarettes, then we continue on.

As we took our second break, it was getting windy and Edvan was tired of walking, dad told him to quit being a little shit, this meant dad was on his third bottle. Edvan kicked some rocks around and told dad he was hungry, dad said "let's keeping walking then" ..

Edvan yelled at dad "WHY DO WE HAVE TO WALK EVERYWHERE!"

Dad replied "Because"

Edvan yelled even more frustrated "WHY!?!"

The crow on the powerline responded "Because, because"

We all looked up, and started to laugh, Edvan was now arguing with a bird. We continued on to China Star for lunch, Dad kept mimicking the bird. After we were stuffed, we all went pack up for a final plate and some desert. Dad carefully slide each of those plates into some Tupperware and we left without paying, dad told us he washed the dishes so he didn't have to pay.

After we start walking, we stop at the nearest convenient store, you guess it! ANOTHER beer. FINALLY we got to Carol's house, my dad passed out on the couch and I sat out on the porch waiting for my uncle to get home.

We get dropped off at home, Edvan and I get ourselves ready for bed, before I leave to my room he looked up at me and said "Because, because" and our Saturday was over as soon as my head hit the pillow.

children
3

About the Creator

Jayme Rios

We all have a stories, here are mine.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.