Families logo

Who broke the blind?

Who did it?

By Evangelina MendozaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Which one of us broke the blind?

Dear mom,

Do you remember back in 2001 when we were living in the apartments in South Garden? You asked all 3 of my siblings including myself who broke the blind from the window? Well, I have a confession, I did it! Im finally admitting it after 21 years because I’m an adult lol. Let me tell you the story of how it all went down and why I never told a single soul not even you or my brothers and sister.

It all started in 2001, me minding my own business like any other day. I was eating cereal and got ready to go outside like we normally did. My two brothers would get all the kids from our apartments (about 50 apartments) and we would all get together to play some type a sport game versus each other. So about 40 kids all total would come to the very back of the apartment and we would play basketball, football, baseball, or kickball, hide and seek, and what ever game we would come up with. We would do this all summer! Now that I’m writing this and reminiscing I wish we could go back in time. Anyways, I got ready and decided to close the blinds and I somehow got the blind stuck so I tried to fix it at 11 years old. Well I didn’t fix it that’s for sure, or at least I thought I broked it. Either way it fell and it left a big gap in between the next blind so it was definitely noticeable. I knew I was going to be in trouble. Me not wanting to get an ass whooping decided that it was a good idea to just slide the blind over to the empty space was , so it was kinda taking the place of the broken blind. Like you wouldn’t see it if you just didnt touch it. But come on I knew eventually you would open the blinds, but I still did it anyways. I threw the blind at the bottom of the trash. I put new trash on top of the broken blind so that it would hide the evidence. I went outside and was playing with everyone. Hours go by and then the expected thing happen. We hear you calling us, from the front door of our apartment. You were not happy at all and yelling at us to hurry up and to get upstairs and that we weren’t coming back out to play. I instantly knew it was about the blind.

I remember that you lined us all up. My two brothers, my sister, and myself. You asked us over and over again who broke the blind and who threw it in the trash. We all said nope not us. No not me and no I don’t know who did it. Well, we all got it besides my youngest sister because she was youngest and my dad always protected her. Plus you knew it wasn’t her and it was one of us.

Still to this day I remember how we all got our asses beat over the blind and how I just couldn’t admit that I did it. I knew that my brothers were going to be mad at me because they both had already got hit as well. So it would have been to late for me say that I did it. I never told anyone about this lie and I felt bad that my brothers got punished because of my lie. I always wonder if they knew it was me?

Well now you know! So did you knew it was me? I bet you thought it was one of my brothers.

Love,

Your daughter ( second born and 1st daughter)

siblings
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.