Families logo

Who are you not to be?

I came into this world fighting!

By Christina AtterburyPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Boss Mom!!!

I came into this world fighting! My mom or my "brown sugar" as I affectionaly call her always reminds me of the day I was born. My mom a young 21 year old in 1984 giving birth to what would be her one and only child! She loved to tell me how she had NO idea she was pregnant until she was about 7 months, she loved eating all the things that they say today are awful for babies, and how she only knew she was pregnant because of an unfortunate run in on her way to work with Burger King! Yet there she was giving birth to a baby girl on a brisk Thanksgiving eve.

Her baby girl who weighed 1 pound 9oz! Yup you heard me correctly! I came about 2 whole months early, and my mom was NOT ready for the road ahead! They immediatley told my mom I would have academic struggles, that I would not adapt socially, and that I would have many struggles because I was a premature baby. Well guess who proved them wrong.... My BOSS MOM ! My mom for as long as I could remember worked no less than 2-3 jobs at a time. I was the product of the familar phrase " being raised by the village."

I was loved my my aunts, grandparents, mom's friends, everyone! My mom had to deal with a new baby who was the size of a little carrott, a husband who had substance abuse issues, all while NEVER loosing her faith, her determination, and her love. As I've gotten older I realize that the reason why my Mom is such a boss is because she comes from a long line of bosses.

My great grandmother who is still alive and well today has lived 91 years with only a 5th grade education. She helped raise all of her 11 siblings, picked cotton, raised 5 children of her own ( one being my grandmother), and a host of grands, and great-grands. I happen to be her first great-grand by the way.

When I think about this idea of what it means to be a " BOSS", it reminds me that it is soooo much more than telling people what to do or having a fancy title.

My mom graduated from college ( Temple University) the same day I graduated from high school. Now that's a BOSS move!

My great-grandmother owns land that she can tell generations about! That's a boss move!

My mother always reminds me that I came into this world already with a target on my back... Black, female, and from a single parent home.

Her boss moves came out of her will to survive during times that did always feel good, but were necessary. What she taught me is that who am I not to be better, be greater, work harder, love harder, show empathy, do good by people? I'm a descendant of the foundation of BOSS women who even when their boss moves were not identified as such, or may have not been popluar, their moves were and still are impactful!

Bosses don't always work for fancy companies. Sometimes bosses are the ones that can share stories, give you hope when you feel hopeless, provide comfort when you are in pain, cook you a good meal when you are hungry, hug you when you need it the most. All of these reasons are why my mom is a boss. I hope that one day I can be half the women she is even when it doesnt always come easy.

children
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.