Families logo

What happen to treating people the way you want to be treated?

Cruelty among children

By Jordan HarseyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I have been blessed with two beautiful smart children, who my whole world revolves around. Well just the other day 14 year old son comes home from school with the biggest grin on his face. He jumps in the car and starts telling me how a girl at school had asked him to the 8th grade formal. She apparently asked him in front of one of his friends. Well naturally he said yes. He even confirmed with the girl the next day, to make sure. All of a sudden he cares about his looks and brushing his hair and teeth. I don’t think I’ve ever seen my son pay such close attention to his appearance. It’s amazing what girls can do to a teenage boy. Well a couple of day pass and Friday afternoon roles around. I get a text from my son, “Well I’ve got bad news.” Naturally, I get concerned. He begins to tell me the girl that had asked him to formal, came back and told him it was all a joke. He proceeded to tell me he was embarrassed. Of course, I told him not to be, that he didn’t do anything to be embarrassed about. I never saw myself in a million years as the mom that cries when their kids feelings are hurt. I’m usually this tough, strong willed, independent woman. Well I cried like a baby. I was so hurt that someone would treat my son that way. He’s such a friendly kid, loves to make people laugh, a little goofy at times, but surely didn’t deserve that. Not to mention he’s a good looking kid. Well my son and this girl have been friends for a few years and he asked me not to say anything, because he wants to remain friends with this girl. What I don’t understand is, if it was a joke then why didn’t she say so right then when she asked him. She let him walk around for days thinking they were going to formal together and he even confirmed it with her the next day after she asked him to go with her. Here I was making sure that he is going to treat her right and not back out on her and she does it to him. What’s even worse is he had no intention to even go to formal until she asked him, now he doesn’t want to go at all. What is a mother to do, when he’s asked me not to say anything? I just ask my son to give the girl space and leave her alone, for a while. I asked him to sit back and watch how she acts and treats him from here on out. As much as I love my son, I will give it some time to pass over, but if anything else comes from this I won’t just stand by. I don’t want to hurt my son’s feelings anymore then they already are, but her actions were not those of a friend, in my opinion. I never treated my guy friends like that, when I was their age. I’ve never treated a anyone like that and I certainly wouldn’t allow my son or daughter to treat someone that way either. By far being a mom and loving my children so much has been the hardest thing I’ve ever done in my life. I learn new things about myself everyday as they are growing up so fast. God please give my strength, because I don’t think anything hurts worse then seeing your baby hurt.

children
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.