Families logo

We Sure Showed Them!

The Day We Won The Gold!

By Jasper WolfPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

She was my girl. Everyone says that a dog is Man's best friend. They must have never met a kid and their dog.

Scully was her name. She was a beautiful Airedale Terrier. At that time in the early 2000's my mom's favorite show was the X-files. Scully was her favorite and decided to keep the dog named after her.

My mom used to run the rescue for airedale and lakeland terriers in South Eastern, Michigan. She's a licensed breeder and showed the champion dogs she bred.

I used to love dog shows. Let me rephrase that. I loved going to dog shows. They had vendors that sold Dog Shirts, Sweatpants, Hoodies, All kinds of food. It was like a fair, but instead of rides, they had all kinds of DOGS!

This year, we went to Youngstown, Ohio to see some family friends. While there, my Mom attended the local dog show in the area. My friend and I were young and tagged along. Being only Twelve at the time, I had shown a dog once before, just to try it out. Wasn't my cup of tea. I was Nine Years Old when I was showing against other kids my age, I lost and was highly disappointed. I vowed to never show again. Yes, I know, dramatic.

Well, that day in Youngstown, my mom was grooming one of the dogs on the table and said, "I need you to show Scully today." I looked at her with my eyes wide open and said, "I'm sorry, what?" She said, "I need you to show Scully."

Panicking I tried to get out of it by saying, "If you want to win, don't put me in there. I'm twelve years old! Going against people who show their dogs all the time!"

My mom looked over at me and said, "You'll do fine. Just go in there and do your best." I looked at Scully and shrugged my shoulders.

"Here is your lead and take Scully out to practice." Grabbing the lead, I placed it around her neck and said, "Come on, Girl."

I was pretty much winging it. I haven't done this in years and it was only one time! And I lost!

My friend came with me and if you promise not to laugh, I'll tell you what happened. It's a very embarrassing moment, but very true. My friend is my witness. She is over 30 today and still remembers. Never lets me live it down.

Scully was so good about everything. She was so patient. I held the lead up and went up and down the grass, watching her prance so beautifully. My friend was a few feet away watching as I go back and forth, back and forth.

I kid you not, I had my eyes on Scully. But, one rule of dog showing, look where you are going. I learned that the hard way. I looped around and was in a fast walk, almost to a jog. Watching my pretty girl do so wonderful. When I looked up, I smashed my face into a dog food truck. I hit the ground with a vengence. My friend was a true friend. Instead of running over to me, she was too busy rolling around laughing. That was the end of my practicing.

It was time to enter the ring. Around me were at least several adults. Oh boy was I intimidated. Say what you want about me, but I knelt down and put my forehead on Scully's. I said, "I love you. No matter if we win or lose, you're a good girl and I love you." I finished with a kiss.

I got in line with the towering adults and waited my turn. The judge called me over and instructed me to go up, loop around, and come back to him. I did what he asked me, but I was shaking. Hopefully, no one could tell.

I got back in the line while the others finished. All of their dogs looked amazing. Not that Scully didn't, but she sure had some tough competition. The last adult finished and went to the end of the line.

The judge approached the awaiting contestants. He lifts his hand and like Uncle Sam, he pointed at me and told me to get to the front of the line. I won!

I hugged Scully in disbelief and said, "We did it! We beat them!" I ran to my Mom in our little camp and said, "Mom! I won!" I don't think she was happy for the 1st place ribbon. I think she was happy that I did it, myself. It was a proud moment for her. It was definitely a day I would never forget.

Still today, my mom keeps the beautiful Airedale sun catcher I won that day. It's all we have left of Scully, but this memory of her is first place in my heart.

values
Like

About the Creator

Jasper Wolf

Founder/Owner of Howling Wolf Freelance Writing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.