Families logo

waiting by the gate

A short story

By VinitPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
waiting by the gate
Photo by Jan Kopřiva on Unsplash

I watched a young boy standing by the gate watching hundreds of soldiers passing by, asking a soldier every so often. Have you seen my da? Now and again, a soldier would stop and bend down and ask about his da.

His name is Sam. The young boy came and pulled slightly to the left, or the right would say the soldier would shout out very loud anyone called Sam, nobody answered. The soldier would put his hand on the boys head and walk on.

The boy was getting tired; he held in his hand a piece of rope at the end of the peace rope was a wooden bogi. It had two small wheels at the front and two large wheels at the back; the steering was done by the rope being held in hands gently pulling from left to right. is da had just made it for him. Just before he left, it was a long time ago. Sam thought. He sat there, trying to remember his da and the things that they would do together. They both love to go to the Canal and fish, is da would lift him up onto his shoulders and carry him all the way home.

His da always called into the fishmongers and picked up a couple of fish, telling his wife that he and its son had caught them. He smiled to himself, thinking, I'm sure me ma new.

Getting back to the memories. He remembered the last time he saw him. He looks so smart in his uniform. He said it was warm is, and it was the best clothes that he had worn for a long time—bending down to show his son his new boots. These are the best boots I have ever worn. His Da said with so much pride.

He said. Winking at his son, his son asked if da would get a pair one day? His Da said. Maybe someday. He is da walked out to the gate up the road to the waiting truck. Young Sam stood there waving for a long time. He thought his arms would drop off; he gives himself a little chuckle as he started to drop off to sleep. Now and again. He thought he could hear his Da calling him. But he was too tired,

He looked again, asking me if you sees my da. Can you tell him I am waiting, please? He closed his eyes and went to sleep. His da stood close by. Why doesn't he let go? he asked. I told his da that sometimes people did not understand.

That he would have to be patient, we sat down together talking. I asked him what he thought was one of his son's favorite memory was.

He lent back laughing. Fishing I think he would love to go fishing. That was it. I thought I waited until his mind was wondering, and I crept in and gently I whispered. About the time that his da court the biggest fish ever in the whole wide world. When he brought it up, it was nothing but an old boot filled with water.

And for the first time, I heard young Sam crying. From the bottom of his soul. I heard him call his da a million times. Then I felt the sadness leaving his soul as he gently reached out his hand for mine. I watched as a beautiful light appeared; his dad stood by waiting by the gate. I watch young Sam go into his Da's arms. I heard the sobs of happiness.

I heard Sam telling his da about the day that he waited by the gate. I heard young Sam telling his da about the big flash of lightning. That took him into the sky. I heard his da asked. Did it hurt Sam? No, Da, I never felt a thing. I watched them both walk together, talking as if there had never been apart.

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Vinit

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.