Families logo

Unveiling The Pass

The Secret Box

By Cathy DeslippePublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like
Unveiling The Pass
Photo by Kira auf der Heide on Unsplash

I was standing trying to unravel Christmas Lights for outside our house. I looked over on the front step and was surprised to see a lovely decorated box.

Rather suspiciously, I first wondered where did it come from. I asked, could it be for me? Wow, a candy cane, like my mother, used to hang on the tree, and a red and white string like my mom had to hold up our tree.

Even before I found out who the box was for, flashbacks of my past came rolling through my mind. I remembered the time my sisters and I bought each other Christmas gifts. We promised to purchase each other dolls. I didn't think I would get the one I showed them to get for me, so I snuck under the tree.

As I was cautious about unwrapping the paper, I peeked inside, and wow, it was the doll. Wrapping it back up quickly, not wanting to show I had looked inside. The tree fell right down on top of me.

Sitting there holding the mysterious box, I could not stop laughing. My parents were shocked not only to find the tree on the ground but also to find me.

I was holding the red and white string in my hand. It looked so beautiful on the box. I thought if it had been a little bit thicker, it would have been the string my mom used to hold the tree up with. All because of the size of the tree and also because of their sneaky little girls.

As I sat there laughing and laughing to myself, the most wonderful memories of Christmas past came across my mind. When dad was done his milk route on Christmas eve, we all got to eat a bucket of chicken. It was the best night ever, watching a good Christmas show and just being together and having fun.

Wherever this lovely mystery box came from, and even if it wasn't meant for me, it truly brought me many wonderful memories.

Not thinking, I put the box on the doorstep to finish unravelling the lights. I wanted to get them up before it got too cold. Also, we were having family come for dinner.

My husband had just come home from work. Walking by, he said is this a present for you? I shook my head and still didn't know who that box was for.

Carrying it inside with him, I finished decorating. The lights looked amazing, and Santa's sleigh seemed so real. Our kids were going to love it.

Well, Billy (my husband) looked at the box. He looked up and said, "you would have almost thought your mom had wrapped it up.". I agreed with him. From the candy cane to the red and white string, how could you not think of it?

Then as we looked at the label, we both looked shocked. It was my mom's handwriting. ( no one could perfect that handwriting, my mom's writing was perfect).

The mystery box was addressed to me, but apparently, it had been lost at the Post Office for years. It was sent to me in 2016. my mom passed away in 2017. I got so excited that I wanted to open it right away.

Billy looked at the box and said I am sorry, honey, you can't. Looking down at the box, I saw it was stamped, Do Not Open Until Christmas.

Well, that would be a present from my mom, two weeks away. I honestly have to try to stay far away from it. The more I looked at it, the more curious I got.

I kept myself and our family busy shopping and putting up the Christmas tree. We didn't have to string our tree up, and our kids didn't see presents until Christmas morning. No, as tempting as their mother was, I wanted to surprise our kids.

We were baking, and I was sharing with our children how their grandma used to make a great big bowl of white fruitcake for Christmas every year. I then wished I had the recipe. I explained how much work it was for her, cutting up green and red cherries and nuts. I often would help stir it u. Lots of work. (many small loaves were made to give as gifts)

Both Billy and I started to share stories of our Christmas when we were their age. How my unfavourite toy was a vacuum cleaner, but my favourite was the doll from my sister.

My husband loved when the whole family, cousins, aunts and uncles all got together. It was magical to see everyone; the best part was the food and the pastries. We both looked at each other; who wants cookies?

Christmas just couldn't come soon enough. Looking over at that box, wondering what did mom send me.

By Ray Hennessy on Unsplash

Hurray, it's Christmas day.

Waking up to the bells ringing from the church down the street, I could not wait to get the kids together and slowly walk downstairs to see if Santa had come.

They were so excited and started unwrapping all of their gifts. Billy unwrapped the gifts I gave him. Just what he needed. Cable boosters.

Drumroll, everyone, it's magic time. I slowly took the string off and folded it carefully. Then the paper, only to find another box with paper on it. Again unwrapping, I found a picture of a beautiful cardinal my mom had photographed. Nicely in a frame with a note attached.

I was rather choked up as I began to read, whenever you see a cardinal, you know I am near. That would be my mom, she said that after my grandparents had passed. She would say the fly in the coffee shop was my aunt; she always loved to have coffee with her.

That wasn't the whole gift. Inside this beautiful mystery box was a book mom had made for me. A nice little note "Merry Christmas to all." Looking through the book I saw pictures of our family growing up. Of my parent's first Christmas. So many beautiful memories that I could share with my children. (even her fruitcake recipe)

The mystery box was a gift that meant more to me than anyone could imagine. After that Christmas, I started to collect things for my children's mystery box. I wanted them to have something special for days to come.

Can you guess what I put inside?

A photo of the Christmas Mystery Box my mom sent to me on one very special Christmas Day.

values
Like

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.