Families logo

Unlikely Match

The Beginning

By Elaine DembowskiPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
3
Unlikely Match
Photo by Mona Miller on Unsplash

EverythinEverything seemed quiet. I can see people around me, stopping to talk to me, but it all seemed surreal. I couldn't understand any of the conversations. As I sat there, my thoughts ran away with my memories. It was a sunny day in May, 1969. The sun shone so bright that it glinted off of the red sports car that stopped to pick me up. Jeff's green eyes shone as he stopped in front of my porch. "Are you ready, Nancy? " he called over to me. "I certainly am", I giggled. I walked over to the car as the driver leaned over and the door popped open. Jeff was as handsome as the first day I met him 3 years earlier in freshman year. His green eyes complimented his dark curly hair and chiseled features. He had a nice smile.. genuine. I cant believe he asked me on a date. I always thought he was into all the cheerleaders and popular girls. Not me, the book worm. I smiled as I tried to hide my nervousness. Off we went.. the sun started to sink in the sky. We were going to the Italian Villa, a classy restaurant on the other side of town near the river. I have never been there but heard all the girls talk about it. We stopped in front as the valet came to the car. Jeff handed him the keys as he came around and opened my door. We went inside and Jeff told the hostess his name. She showed us to a table near the window. The white tablecloth and the lit candle made the silverware shine. It was just as I had dreamed. I looked out the window as the river flowed past carrying a family of ducks. I smiled as i watched them. Jeff saw me smile…"A penny for your thoughts", Jeff commented. "Im just watching the ducks and how they swim together, following one another. A real family. " Jeff smiled, too. The waiter, who introduced himself as Todd, asked if he could get us a drink. Jeff answered, " can you recommend a wine?" As Todd handed him a wine list. Todd replied, " I would recommend a nice Merlot. " Jeff told him that we would have a bottle. The wine tasted really nice. Smooth and fruity. We looked at the menu and ordered. We talked throughout dinner.. the wine helped me relax. After dinner, he drove me home and asked if he could see me again...I of course, said yes....that date turned into a second, third, fourth... engagement, wedding... Someone touched my arm. " Nancy, Father Rinaldi wants to begin the ceremony." I started to hear the drone of all the people around me... and saw the priest standing in front of a .....coffin. I looked down at my hands clutching a white hankie embroidered with blue flowers. Jeff gave me that hanky years ago on a beautiful spring day. My hands were wrinkly ... I looked at a card...Jeffrey Singer, born June 23, 1943. Died July, 17, 2019 was written on it. 50 years.... 50 years had passed since my first date with Jeff. We had a wonderful life together. 50 years.. the war when he went over seas right after high school… the separation when i wasnt sure if he would come back home, alive. 4 children, a house with a white picket fence, vacations, holidays, family... And love. .lots of love.... and to think it all started on a sunny day in May and a bottle of Merlot.

Everything seemed quiet. I can see people around me, stopping to talk to me, but it all seemed surreal. I couldn't understand any of the conversations. As I sat there, my thoughts ran away with my memories. It was a sunny day in May, 1969. The sun shone so bright that it glinted off of the red sports car that stopped to pick me up. Jeff's green eyes shone as he stopped in front of my porch. "Are you ready, Nancy? " he called over to me. "I certainly am", I giggled. I walked over to the car as the driver leaned over and the door popped open. Jeff was as handsome as the first day I met him 3 years earlier in freshman year. His green eyes complimented his dark curly hair and chiseled features. He had a nice smile.. genuine. I cant believe he asked me on a date. I always thought he was into all the cheerleaders and popular girls. Not me, the book worm. I smiled as I tried to hide my nervousness. Off we went.. the sun started to sink in the sky. We were going to the Italian Villa, a classy restaurant on the other side of town near the river. I have never been there but heard all the girls talk about it. We stopped in front as the valet came to the car. Jeff handed him the keys as he came around and opened my door. We went inside and Jeff told the hostess his name. She showed us to a table near the window. The white tablecloth and the lit candle made the silverware shine. It was just as I had dreamed. I looked out the window as the river flowed past carrying a family of ducks. I smiled as i watched them. Jeff saw me smile…"A penny for your thoughts", Jeff commented. "Im just watching the ducks and how they swim together, following one another. A real family. " Jeff smiled, too. The waiter, who introduced himself as Todd, asked if he could get us a drink. Jeff answered, " can you recommend a wine?" As Todd handed him a wine list. Todd replied, " I would recommend a nice Merlot. " Jeff told him that we would have a bottle. The wine tasted really nice. Smooth and fruity. We looked at the menu and ordered. We talked throughout dinner.. the wine helped me relax. After dinner, he drove me home and asked if he could see me again...I of course, said yes....that date turned into a second, third, fourth... engagement, wedding... Someone touched my arm. " Nancy, Father Rinaldi wants to begin the ceremony." I started to hear the drone of all the people around me... and saw the priest standing in front of a .....coffin. I looked down at my hands clutching a white hankie embroidered with blue flowers. Jeff gave me that hanky years ago on a beautiful spring day. My hands were wrinkly ... I looked at a card...Jeffrey Singer, born June 23, 1943. Died July, 17, 2019 was written on it. 50 years.... 50 years had passed since my first date with Jeff. We had a wonderful life together. 50 years.. the war when he went over seas right after high school… the separation when i wasnt sure if he would come back home, alive. 4 children, a house with a white picket fence, vacations, holidays, family... And love. .lots of love.... and to think it all started on a sunny day in May and a bottle of Merlot.

literature
3

About the Creator

Elaine Dembowski

Start

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.