Families logo

Unique and Sweet Baby Girl Names

Baby Girl Names I Love and Why

By Jennifer LichtiPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Sweet baby Dean

I’ve always been obsessed with names. Like, not just a little but like spending my free time searching and searching the internet for baby names. I don’t just like any old name. I’m very specific on the names that I’ve chosen and I’m proud of my list! I don’t have any children of my own yet but I definitely will eventually. You will see that some names have middle names with them and some don't. That is only because for some names I found middle names that I like and for some names I haven’t yet! Without any further ado here is my list of baby girl names that I love and the reasons behind them. The list is in no particular order other than the order in which I’ve thought of them!

1. Franny

This name is short for Francine which means free. I think the shortened version is just so sweet and simple. It’s unique enough that not everyone has it but it’s common enough that it doesn’t stick out. Not that sticking out is bad- I just like that it has that middle ground. Not sure of a middle name yet that I like with it.

2. Cleo Alexandria

Cleo is also short for another name which is Cleopatra. Cleo means Father’s glory and is Greek. I like the sound of Cleo. I think it’s sweet but not too feminine. Alexandria I think it’s just beautiful and adds and elegance to Cleo.

3. Elinor

Elinor is a version of Eleanor. I like this spelling better and I think it’s cute that it can be shortened to Eli. Elinor means light and is Greek. I don’t have much to say about this one other than I just like that way it sounds!

4. Lucy Ella

Lucy is Latin and apparently means light as well. Lucy is very common nowadays but this was my very first baby name that I loved. I think it’s short and sweet. As you can see I like short names that typically end in a ‘y’ or ‘ie’. I like Ella for a few different reasons. First, I love Ella Fitzgerald’s music! Also, my boyfriend's great grandmothers name was Ella and she was very special to their family.

5. Reese

Reese means enthusiasm and is Welsh! I love that meaning. I also just love the sound of it and love that it isn’t too feminine sounding again. I could just picture a sweet little girl with blonde hair named Reese.

6. Elm Rosemary

Elm, now Elm obviously is a tree. This is a name that I have been loving recently, probably my favorite name at the moment. When I was trying to do some research online I couldn’t really find too many people named Elm or much background on it. I love that it’s a unique name but not a unique word. Again, it’s short and sweet. Rosemary just sounds good with it, I think. I know these names are also two plants but I think that’s what makes it beautiful! Also, my middle name is Rose so it’s kind of a tribute to myself.

7. Penny Sue

Penny is typically short for Penelope which is Greek and means faithful wife of Odyssey. I do also love the name Penelope but I love how sweet Penny sounds. Sue is just a short middle name that I think rolls off the tongue well with Penny.

8. Glennie

This is a name that I just found the other day. While living in Los Angeles I would see signs for “Glendale”, “Glenwoods”, “Glen” and always liked the way that ‘Glen’ looked but didn’t necessarily like that name. So when I came across Glennie I thought it was perfect. It had that “ie” ending that I love!

I hope you enjoyed reading my list! I’ll be back soon with my list of boy names that I love. Thanks for spending your time with me!

list
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer Lichti

My name is Jenn. I’m 24 years old and live in Ohio. I have type 1 diabetes, I eat a plant based diet, and I love talking about wellness and health. I want to share my experiences and ideas and I hope you stick around!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.