Families logo

Trio

3 Generations Of Ladies Who Create Together and Love Each Others

By Amy PhillipsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

There is just something about the number 3. First and Formost I am a Believer in the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit. I am the Oldest of 3 Girls, I had 3 Boys, I have 3 Fur babies, and I love crafting for buiness with my mom,and my 92 (going on 60) grandmother.

Some Background: From the time I can remember I have loved anything to do with crafting. Growing up it was quickly established that my rewards for good grades, good behavior etc were getting to go and spend time at my grandparents house. My Grandmother is an Amazing, Wonderful, Creative woman who inspired imagination before we would even walk in the door. We would be headed inside only to hear her greeting "Stop all who enter here must walk into this house like baby ducks' (fill in the animal blank) and from that point on the adventures in creativity would begin. She had a ceramic shop in her basement and I was her assistant. I would help ladies in her classes by rinsing brushes, bringing clean water, new colors of paint etc. My reward was to be able to go with her afterward to the local crafts shops, purchase the most glorious craft kits and supplies and come home and create our treasures together.

Flash Forward: Our relatonship and projects have grown strong over the years. My grandfather the patriarch of our family passed away about 8 years ago and My grandmother moved into the basement apartment with my mom and her husband. True to who she is she set up her crafting room and spaces in her new home and they are FAB U LOUS. She is so inspiring in her creation of handsewn projects, card making, jewelry design and so much more. The thing that I did not realize all of those years ago is that she was molding me into her mini me. I am now the proud owner of Creative Mindz Mobile Arts and Crafts Studio and yes we offer Painted Pottery, Cardmaking and Jewelry making classes. We have enjoyed bringing my mom into our crafing adventures as well.

I have inbedded in me, an entreprenurial spirit. As an adult I discovered the love of sales running through my veins. So... Trio Designs was born through these efforts. We began making and selling silk tassel necklaces years ago, of course with "Fiskars" brand of Scissors, only the best, and our business quickly grew. My grandmother, who is again in her 90's made every single one of our hundreds of Tassles for our necklaces which we sold in the wholesale market to boutiques and gift shops. When the trend began to dry up we pivoted to a different project.

Recently we began to make with the help of the only seamstress among us our Wearable dishtowel Wraps and Button Up Dish Towels. I began selling these through my avenues and it was not long before my grandmother shared that she needed HELP to keep up with inventory. She bought my mom and I sewing machines for our Birthdays a few months ago and has been teaching us to sew, again only using the "Fiskars" brand products for our cutting needs. So... Here we are doing what we love and loving what we do. Creating Fab U lous products for sale and loving every minute together. Thank you to "Fiskars" for your quality and durability in your products that have made it possible for us to enjoy creating countless projects and priceless memories. We are indeed a blessed "Trio"

grandparents
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.