Families logo

Trick or Treating on a Sunday?

Yes or No?

By J.B. MillerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Trick or Treating on a Sunday?
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

It's Halloween today and a wet and windy one at that here in England. However, it's been an odd one. After last year, when we had to forgo the decorations, treats and going door to door, it seems that the world has reset with a different set of rules. Since Covid, I don't think people really know what is happening anymore. It's more of go with the flow situation, with most things.

I was adamant that the kids would be trick or treating on Saturday; in all my forty-plus years, I have never known kids to go out on a Sunday. However, parents and locals across the board decided that Halloween was the 31st, so it would be the 31st that kids went out.

I honestly don't know what to think. Is this a mandella effect? I thought everyone knew that you celebrated Halloween on a Saturday if it fell on a Sunday. However, that's not how it has happened this year. To begin, a local Facebook board was discussing it. Then, everyone and I mean everyone that responded, was on board with trick or treating happening on Sunday.

At first, I thought, OK, that's one small group of people who obviously have gotten the wrong end of the stick. So, I went to my mom's whats ap group chat. These are the parents of all the children in my daughters class. Here would be the voices of reason. I was wrong.

Every single parent agreed that Trick or Treating was happening on Sunday. Was I the only one that remembered the Saturday rule? At this point, I was flummoxed. I even sat down with my husband and went over the idea. He agreed that it's usually a Saturday change over if the 31st fell on a Sunday, so were we both caught in a time loop?

We even reminisced how Halloween had fallen on a Sunday before, and the kids went out on Saturday. But, of course, by this point, I threw my hands in the air and blamed Covid for everything, including messing up Halloween traditions.

Photo by Jac Alexandru on Unsplash

Let's say a lot of people were confused but upbeat. The general consensus was that decorations were up, and if kids came on Saturday, they would give them the good stuff. So basically, this year, Halloween became a possibly two-day holiday. I had a bowl set out with loads of treats in it if any ghosts or goblins showed up. But, surprisingly, we didn't.

It's now 5:30 pm, and we have had a few kids at the door, but the weather is dire. It's a night for the brave and determined kids. You may notice I am not out in the weather. I have paid my dues and have given the job to my eighteen-year-old son to take his little sister around the village. I prefer to stay dry. On a positive note, my seventeen-year-old ASD son has his face painted like a spooky pumpkin and is waiting and ready to open the door and give kids candy! He feels super grown up and in charge of this responsibility.

We may have bought too many candy bags over the last few weeks, but if all else fails, treat bags can be sent to school for the kids. Having two diabetics in the house, it's dangerous having that much sugar around for too long. I am weak when it comes to chocolate!

Well, customs have been thrown out the window, but people seem OK with it. Covid has taught us how to chill, if nothing else. So, Happy Halloween, everyone! Also, just a note to remember; There is still Thanksgiving before Christmas. I know how people start decorating long before December!

children
Like

About the Creator

J.B. Miller

Wife, Mother, student, writer and so much more. Life is my passion, writing is my addiction. You can find me on Linkedin at https://www.linkedin.com/in/brandy28655/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.