Families logo

Traveling Without Kids

The Glorious Escape!

By LittleFish BigPondPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Just me singing in the rain in Savannah!

On the topic of traveling without children, it’s absolutely glorious! This is definitely a benefit of growing older. Don’t get me wrong, I love my kids, I really do. I took them on a lot of vacations, as well as road trips to museums, science centers, amusement parks, and historical sites. I enjoyed those times, I really did. But let’s face it, vacationing with kids is just taking care of kids in another location. Even if it’s the most beautiful and/or luxurious vacation, it was childcare. It was actually childcare on steroids. A different location with stranger danger, elusive bathrooms, whining, bickering, and sullen, unappreciative teenagers.

A rundown of some of our vacation “moments” include: a 2-year-old that napped in the car, sat up in bed, SCREAMING the ABC song while we were all exhausted from the road trip and trying to sleep, a 4-year-old who desperately wanted to see Sea World, until we got there. We paid over $300 in admission tickets to the park, convinced that he would change his mind—he didn’t and fussed the entire day. It was largely a miserable day and a complete waste of money. Disney, when two kids spent the day fighting on each and every ride over who got to ride with Mom. They didn’t want to take turns, that would be reasonable, and small children are not reasonable. Poor, unwanted Dad. It wasn’t about Dad, though, it was just about fighting. The oldest child at one point sat on a curb at Disney, still holding onto a stroller, shaking his head and asking aloud, “Who cries at Disney?” My kids do. Correction: two of my kids do. Then there’s always the 10 dollar chicken nuggets or the 5 dollar drink that the child MUST have and then after one bite, decides he doesn’t want. Vacationing with children, if it’s not all-inclusive, is a budget breaker. Vacationing with kids was stressful. I stressed a lot and probably about things I didn’t need to. I always knew beforehand where the local urgent cares and hospitals would be, I always overpacked, I always worried that each child would have a great time, a fabulous memory that would last forever.

So, while you all laugh at my former pain, I know that it’s over. I recently took my very first, absolutely no-kids vacation. I didn’t feel guilty for doing it. I made it short, five days and four nights. I probably could have done it years ago, with helpful grandparents to watch the brood. But I didn’t. I would feel guilty, I would worry, I would feel burdensome if someone else had to watch my children while I went on a frivolous holiday. I was a martyr and I probably should have gone on childless vacations or weekend getaways. I didn’t and now is my time. I am now going to enjoy it. Aging has its benefits. I can chose the restaurant and activities. I don’t have to break up any backseat fights. I don’t have to keep track of multiple passports and flight tickets. I can relax. Vacationing without children is glorious! I did come back to a clogged toilet that had overflowed. It was still worth it. Who knows? That may have happened if I were home with the young adults. Okay, well, maybe not. And if it had, the clean up would have been a lot sooner and a lot better.

Prior to my short, adult-only vacation, my kids had no idea what I did. Now they know. Just trying to do a fraction of it left them exhausted and anxious for my return home. I don’t know how long it will last, but I will enjoy the newfound appreciation while it lasts.

travel
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.