Families logo

Top 5 Items to Survive the First Month After Birth

Items That Really Help!

By Charley BennettPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Having a new baby can be very challenging, especially if you already have other children to take care of so I decided to make you all a list (in no particular order) of the items that truly helped me after I had my babies!

Netflix (Or Anything You Can Binge Watch On)

When my first daughter was born, I felt like I was constantly glued to the sofa.

Every feed felt like it was minutes apart and lasted hours!

Luckily I had Netflix at hand so I could binge watch shows like Gilmore Girls and The Walking Dead from start to finish morning, noon, and night!

Unfortunately this time round my first born is now 2 and all the sofa sitting time now consists of Peppa Pig and Paw Patrol. 😣😅

Ingenuity Vibrating Swing

This swing has been my life saver! It has a vibration setting, 5 swing speeds, 8 melodies, and 3 calming nature sounds to sooth your baby back to sleep!

I find that when babies aren't eating, sleeping, or pooping, they're constantly screaming to be held. This is where the swing comes in handy! Pop your baby in the swing and they will feel like they're being gently rocked back to sleep whilst it gives you the time to finally do that laundry. It's great!

You can find these in John Lewis, Argos, or Smyths toy stores. Other brands are available and range from £35.

Sleep Suits

You're probably thinking duhhh, this one is obvious! Well it is, but what isn't so obvious is the amount you're going to need and the amount of sizes you should probably buy!

Both my little ones weren't actually quite so little, weighing a huge 9lbs and 10lbs!! You may think you won't have a huge baby because you're tiny or your bump is small but believe me you have no idea until they're actually here. Don't just stick to first size or newborn, make sure you stock up on 0-3 too as my little chunks only lasted a few days in theirs.

I would recommend buying a couple of cute special outfits and at least 10 or 20 sleepsuits because let's face it, for the first month you'll probably be stuck indoors adjusting to your new routine.

I must change my 6 week old at least 3 times on a good day and about 6 on a bad! The amount of poop, pee, and sick you'll be dealing with may shock a first time mum or dad and if you're still adjusting to doing the cleaning, feeding, and finding time to sleep then you may not be able to get the laundry done when you run out of suits.

Muslin Cloths

When I first got pregnant I didn't really know or understand what muslin cloths were and now I know that's because they have so many different purposes!

You can use them to mop up sick and snot or as a make shift bib or nappy! The possibilities are endless and they're very cheap too!

Boppy Cushion

These cushions are so versatile! You can see from the image just how much you can do with them.

I use mine to sit my baby in an upright position as it completely supports her whole body and head which saves us a lot of arm ache from holding her.

You can also use it to support yourself and the baby whilst breast feeding and bottle feeding. It's great to strengthen those back and neck muscles at tummy time and you can use it as an ordinary pillow!

Plus if you buy this item whilst still pregnant you can use it as a bump support during the night to help with those aches and pains resulting in a better night's sleep!

product review
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.