Families logo

This Doggone Pandemic, Man!

The World has gone to the dogs, literally!

By Kristyn LoritschPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1
For the love of all the dogs...

The World has literally gone to the dogs through this global pandemic, and so have I...

What a "ruff" couple of years we all have been through! It has taken a lot to change my life so drastically. From these doggone masks, to changing my career - several times, and trying to sell and get paid for products while working from home, instead of being mocked for this choice.

But another thing that has changed and grown has been my love for dogs.

I've warmed up significantly, to even big dogs through this doggone pandemic; so much so, in fact, that last year I added dog biscuits to my list of products I sell for my small business. And before I even reached the stores that had agreed to test and sell my little doggy product, a few dogs out on a walk with their Dog Ma's and Dog Da's mastered the art of begging and standing on their two hind feet, walking behind and sniffing my basket - knowing exactly what I had in there for sale. (Talk about the quickest dog training school EVER!) I felt so bad for leaving the extras at home, and only bringing what was contracted to be paid for, that I went around the block and brought the extras I baked for the doggos after selling the contents of my basket. (How could I refuse such cute, eager taste testing tactics?) * And yes, I asked "Daddy" if it was okay to feed her a bite first. * Dog safety first! (And the first rule of COVID, too!)

The pandemic and the dogs throughout brought out the Mama - nurturer in me, again. I shared scones, and dog treats at different cafes and eateries, becoming a real legend and Food Goddess and Dog Female Deity. They worshipped the hand that fed them, and the smell of vanilla, peanut butter and scone crumbs that I let them eat off of my plate in a public Cafe. I spoil the loves of my life, folks... but these ones deserve it, and have earned their place at the Food Goddess' table.

I also gave belly scratches, "Good Boy's" and love pets to both dogs and goats at the local parks and ponds.

One other activity that took a lot of my time and priority was to spread body confidence each morning crossing the crosswalk after I woke up while on my jog before my morning chocolatey hot cocoa, with whipped cream and cinnamon dusting on top. We all need more morning pick me ups and confidence boosts!

Women normally appreciate the compliments on their pretty little workout outfits, and the doggos ALWAYS get all happy and excited, prance around and (occasionally) miss their aim when I tell them they look so cute and fluffy.

Their response is typically: "You think I look cute? I love you!" To which the owner and I typically have to gently remind them that their loyalties need to stay with the one holding the leash, not the giver of compliments... Like I said... Cute and fluffy...

The alternate response is "Arf you going to be my honorary Auntie?"

"Yes, Fido, absolutely! Your cuteness demands my attention and approval of any and all requests."

I have witnessed a female dog jumping out of an SUV trunk family picnic to run after me, demanding I pet them, and licking my hands, then smiling her doggedly handsome grin! I henceforth apologized to the Aussie man running after his (disloyal) :( lass. "A, m'lassie! look at 'er run!"

Thankfully, I did not have my own dog with me, and create a real life 101 Dalmations love story. His human date awaited their return while he reminded the runaway lassie of her home and ownership abroad, though telling me she likes females better....

This year, in lieu of dog biscuits, I am in process of creating a pup and dog themed calendar to express the themes and stages of this doggone global pandemic in the cutest and most adorable way possible, letting the dogs go to the forefront, and take center stage.

Since this world has gone to the dogs, why not let the real dogs represent us and what we are all going through? It will be an Awwww-dorable way to ring in the new year!

To make up for the delay my calendar has experienced, I am going to make it an 18 month featurette calendar, at least, if not 24, thus expanding its purpose, and marketable potential for resale by boutiques.

50% of the proceeds will go to a dog organization to help with bedding, food and toys for the doggos of this planet. All the dogs featured are my adoptive dogs through the pandemic and deserve the front and center attention on a calendar wall in every family home they go to.

I know we all secretly (and some, not - so - secretly) are wondering when this doggone pandemic is going to be over yet, but even when the world feels like we have all gone through deep diddily doo doo... I say that we should learn some dog tricks from our four legged friends, and Shake off the COVID blues, wag your hind end, sit, shake a paw, and learn to fall in love with the dogs, y'all!

art
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.