Families logo

Things Get Better

farmer

By Kelly VedderPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

Farming

Well, where do I start? I'd say it started about five years ago. I got married. Eight months later, my father passed. At that time, I remembered what my father used to say. "Take care of your mother." I did.

I quit my waitress job. I went to see my mom every day. One day, I got a call from a police officer. He told me my mom was in a car accident. Thankfully, she wasn't hurt. Mom's car was totaled. I had to pick her up. After that, she had to take a road test. We bought her a new car, and she practiced. The lady conducting the road test had it in for my mom. She never gave my mom a chance. She grabbed the wheel during the road test. My mom had control of the car, but the lady was just nervous. My mom didn't know the area. She didn't realize she was in a school zone and was driving too fast. So, you basically can guess, she failed and lost her license. I didn't mind driving her when she needed to go somewhere. I felt better driving her anyway.

Another time, we went Christmas shopping. As I entered the store, I heard my name called over the store's loudspeaker. My mom had fallen and hurt her face. We were at Rite Aid. The pharmacist was helping my mom when I found her.

I took her to urgent care. It was almost Christmas. My brother had just come into town and met us there. Things were going downhill after my father passed. My mother had suffered from back pain. She was in and out of the hospital with pneumonia. By 2020, she passed.

It had been two and a half years since my father had passed away. I know she is up there with my father. I miss them both. I find myself crying writing this. I miss lunches with my mom and just being with her.

Then, with all that, 2020 was a bad year. My mom passed, I had cataract surgery and of course covid. Then my husband and I ended up moving. That was the start of true adventure

Farm

We bought seventeen acres of land that has two homes on it. The one we live in, and a farmhouse that was gutted. Anyway, we always wanted a farm. We moved there in August 2020. Then we started to get animals.

We started with chickens. So we got twenty-five chicks. One died the first night, but the rest are good. Then we decided we wanted a cow.

Our friend gave us the name of a guy. We met with him and my husband explained he wanted a Jersey cow. He sent us to another cow farm that had a pregnant cow. Her name was Rosie. We bought Rosie and she was mooing all the time. So I told my husband we need to get Rosie a friend. We went back to where Rosie and we were gonna buy another one but our first guy said he had a Dexter with a baby for us. So we went to see them.

I was sold! He offered us two goats. We took the cows and the goats. So, like I said, Rosie was pregnant when we got her. She was due May 20. It wasn't until the end of May 2021 when she gave birth. My husband looked at the camera and my husband said,”I think I see a calf.”

A little before midnight, we got out of bed, went outside, and Rosie gave birth. It wasn't until the next day we realized it was a bull. The two Dexter we have, a mamma, and baby, were great to him. The baby Dexter, Chestnut, and our bull, Hank was love at first sight. They are always together.

Her mother Maggie was very protective of her baby. Rosie is a very good mother. She lets Hank have milk, loves him, and protects him. Then one day we went into the barn and our goat had a baby. We had no idea she was pregnant. It was a surprise. So we had twenty-three chickens, one Rooster, four cows, two are babies, two goats, one baby goat, three cats, and a dog. All in one year. It didn't end there.

We decided to get angora rabbits. So I found this lady and she got me 2. She breeds everything Angora. At first, we were getting alpaca and goats but we backed out at the end. Then my

husband and I decided we wanted fainting goats. Where we live, they're hard to find, so I asked a friend to help. Two days later, he had two female baby fainting goats for me. Then, a month later, he had two males. The names of the regular goats are Coffee, Cappuccino, and the baby is named Latte. Then fainting goats we got females are peanut butter and jelly, and the males are Oreo and Cookie. They are super sweet. Will we stop there? Nobody knows.

The point of this story is: Bad things can happen in life. Don't let it get you down. Because there are other joys and miracles you don't want to miss.

By: Kelly Vedder

values
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.