Families logo

The Wind

A sacrifice fathers must make for their children

By Kierra MaronPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

The wind blew in my long brown hair, as we sailed in storm.

My father had insisted that I come along to know how to keep up the family business, so that one day I'll take over.

My mother was below deck helping the crew throw off any dead weight.

"The Dark Hope will sail through the storm" my father vowed.

Mother said that if he kept up the nonsense, he would be scrubbing the deck.

I laughed at the thought.

The wind was howling as father steered the ship.

"Rock's dead ahead!" yelled Bailey.

He was in the crow's nest keeping lookout.

The ship took a sharp turn, and my mother ran up to deck.

"Henry, careful" she scolded, her red hair flying in the wind.

Thunder boomed from the sky as lighting hit The Dark Hope.

"Janet, take good care of Emma" father said.

Tears were falling down his eyes.

Father grabbed me and threw me in a life boat, he did the same with mother.

The last words I heard him say to me was, "stay safe Emma, your mother and Baily will protect you."

He put Baily in with me and mother, and cut the rope.

We fell into the Atlantic sea, with a splash.

And as Baily and mother paddled away from the burning sip and father, I turned around.

Tears must have filled my eyes, because I couldn't see as the ship went down in flames.

Like the Titanic I thought.

No matter what, I feel like it's my fault.

My father a good man.

He only sailed The Dark Hope for the King.

"The king doesn't control you father, only you control you" I told him.

My dad brought me along to punish me and show me what a good man the king was.

So it's not my fault its the kings.

And he will pay.

Not just for killing father but for putting Baily's family and my family in danger too many times.

He tried to kill my father by putting him in jail for three hundred years, without food!

I think he keeps trying to kill father, and now that he did!

I just can't think about what he'se doing now.

Probably having a blast.

No, I will not think about it.

I never thought about the king again.

I also didn't let myself think about killing him.

Mother handed over the business to me.

I should have known.

Mother always agreed with me.

Even when I'm wrong.

Baily believes me.

As long as two people believe me, I'm okay.

We arrived in Halifax five days after the fire.

I don't feel special because mother told me to keep it a secret.

I wanted to tell and get it off my chest.

Father loved me and he proved it with saving me.

But I can't help but think, why was the ship called The Dark Hope.

I spent most of my days trying to figure out why.

Baily helped me sometimes.

He said "I will help avenge death Henry's death with you."

We took turns.

On Monday's, Wednesday's, Friday's I research why the king sent father on the voyage and the rest of the week, Baily does.

We also take turns running the business.

After a month living in Halifax mother died.

We sent her body back to England.

Aunt Laura and Uncle James can bury her there I told myself.

Baily wanted a place to call home.

So after a year of researching, we stopped.

I told him fine go please.

I did never heard of him again. The End.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Kierra Maron

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.