Families logo

The White and Green Flying Ball of light

an ordinary life

By eilene susan wennerPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

There are some things that happen in your life where your mantra is “Nobody has to know about this…EVER!” That was a moment that happened once with me on the way home from my sister’s house. My sister lived 50 miles away from me, but I would often drive down to visit for the weekend, or holidays. It wasn’t a difficult drive since most of it was done on a straight well-kept turnpike. It was a 45 minute trip and well worth it.

One time I remember driving home when the night was clear and I noticed an extraordinary amount of shooting stars up above me in the sky. This is not the experience I’m planning to highlight in this story, but I certainly felt like Chicken Little -the sky is falling that night. I discovered every August there is a show like that one called Perseid meteors, I just didn’t know that at the time. This event did give me pause at the time, but didn’t evoke the “Nobody has to know about this…EVER!” clause to my life.

The event that did evoke the nobody-clause to my life came, again, as I drove home late one night from a satisfying visit with my sister and her family. I was on the stretch of turnpike that was quite dark, lined with woodland and forests. I was well past the previous exit. I was used to this highway and I wasn’t overly concerned. I was on the last stretch of my journey and I knew I would soon be home and in bed. It was a bit eerie, though, not having any other cars on the road, but that didn’t concern me either.

And then it happened. Unexpectedly, directly in front of my car, just above the top of all the trees a bright object flew in front of me. I would have slammed on my breaks, except the object flew so fast it was there and gone before I had time to react. The only impressions I got from the experience was: That was the fastest and brightest plane I ever saw—what was that?????? The other impression was the combination of brightness of white and green lights. I looked toward where it went, but couldn’t see it, and there were no indications there were any more in the area.

I made two promises to myself that night. One, i was never going to drive home from my sister’s at night again; and two, ‘NOBODY HAS TO KNOW ABOUT THIS…EVER!” Since the object didn’t land in front of me, I didn’t have to deal with it. Since then, hearing about other people’s experiences with such flying objects, I rejoice that I hadn’t experienced any time loss….that I know of, that is.

I’m reluctant to use the acronym UFO, you know ‘Unidentified Flying Object.” You know how people react to that kind of event. It makes you, somewhat, suspicious psychologically. Thus, “Nobody has to know about this…ever! and I can keep it to myself until I die. I remember an episode of the TV show Bonanza (do you remember that show—maybe not—I’m old so I remember it as a childhood show) The story revolved around family life in the 1860’s on a ranch owned by Ben Cartwrite and his his three sons: Adam, Hoss, and Little Joe. In one episode the middle son, Hoss, found a chest of gold. When he picked it up to take home, he was chased by small-people a yard high, who were dressed in green outfits. Hoss ran for his life, and tried to tell his family about how he came home with a chest of gold, and being chased by little green men…..see that’s my point. One doesn’t mention UFO with green light, or little green men. Such murmurings cause concern for your sanity.

I know some people buy into conspiracy theories, and Roswell (you know about Roswell, right? Look it up on Wikipedia it’s an interesting read on this “bright white and green lit, fast moving object in the sky, and little gray men—not green in Roswell’s case). I choose to live my life simply and tuck such incidences as a “wasn’t that an interesting turn of events and using the “nobody-clause.” I kept my promise never to drive home that late again from sister’s home. I always made sure I got home by dusk, or earlier.

A problem developed over the following days and weeks after my nobody-clause incident. It wasn’t some creepy, personal problem, (Thank you to the loving universe of entities). The problem was that this object began appearing over our valley, day and night. Everyone was able to take pictures of it: newspapers, TV news, police, emergency workers, military (apparently it wasn’t part of top-secret military project, because they were on the scene investigating, too).

The unidentified object, flying over all of us (notice i’m still refraining from using the usual UFO delineation for this phenomena), was a topic of conversation wherever we went during that time. I eventually admitted to having seen it in front of my car coming home from my sister’s house at night. I wasn’t pleased at having revealed I had an up close look at the object, lights and all—actually that’s not totally correct. I wouldn’t have been able to describe the object except it was a bright ball of lights that moved so fast I didn’t see anything. I’m pretty sure people began to suspect my sanity at that confession. It’s one thing to see the object at a distance along with others, but to have seen it as a lone spectator makes a person questionable.

Well, that is my green light story. i’m so glad I got that off my mind and out in the open. WHEW!

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

eilene susan wenner

I'm exploring my joy of writng

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.