Families logo

The Sleeping Pills

A short story of a couple.

By Mohammad ArifPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

It was midnight and he was fast asleep as usual.

Fighting with sleep by closing eyes is not a trivial matter, but it has been a habit for years.

Even if he fell asleep, his eyes would definitely open when his wife woke up to urinate, and this would happen two to three times a night. The termite of suspicion was slowly licking his body and he he couldn't do it. He couldn't leave his wife alone, he couldn't stop himself from staying awake.

Sometimes it would happen that he would suddenly fall asleep for a few hours and then suddenly he would wake up and all night long he would wonder how he finally fell asleep.

"Surely my wife must have given me sleeping pills"

The thought haunted him and his suspicions grew that after a week or so, she betrayed him by giving him sleeping pills.

Then he would be even more careful, secretly watching to catch his wife's theft.

But his misfortune was that he never caught it red handed.

It is said that a thief must be caught one day, and one day he is caught.

He finally caught the theft.

He asked his wife for tea that night and after a while he stepped towards the kitchen, at the door which was open.

Then maybe his wife heard the sound of his footsteps and then very fast her hands moved, and the pills in his hand struck his blouse with lightning speed.

"After all, your theft has been caught. I have never seen an unfaithful woman like you in my life. Tell me with whom you blacken your face by giving me sleeping pills.

Tell me or I will kill you. Tell me." Tell me ... hurry up ... "

My anger was on the rise, after years of struggle I caught it red.

If she had not spoken, I would surely have killed her.

"Yeah, these are sleeping pills that i am giving you in tea for a few days ..."

I will not leave you alive today - I will not leave you worthy to be unfaithful to anyone ... "

"God is witness that I do not commit any crime, I do not commit any infidelity.

I know you stay awake at night, the snake of doubt bites you all night and you stay restless all night, even if you fall asleep, a slight sigh wakes you up.

Ten days a week, when I see that sleep has made your life miserable, I give you pills mixed in tea so that you can sleep peacefully.

Even those pills can't make you sleep for more than two or three hours.

I wish you would believe my words, remember on the first night of the wedding i said that you are the first and last man in my life.

Today again I swear by God as a witness that you are the only man who came in my life ... only you .... ... I .... Yesterday was yours too

I am yours even today

And tomorrow will be yours too if you want ...

Your doubts kept whipping my soul from moment to moment but I kept silent that maybe my faithfulness would bring you to the right path, but no,

your doubts grew, you knew that I like children very much but you knew,

you have deprived me of children so that I may not raise my children at your hands. You have kept me practically imprisoned for the last four years. You have not allowed me to come and go anywhere. You took every step that made me guilty.

You punished me without proving the crime, but now that's enough.

I'm tired, just no more ...

Now you take me out of the world or I told you the truth about my life ... "

In the rain of tears she spoke, after a long time she had broken her silent. She was lying with her head in her lap.

Suddenly he came forward and hugged his wife. It was a confession that he has come to believe in his wife's piety.

The wife was happy that her impotent man would now sleep well at night.

advice
1

About the Creator

Mohammad Arif

I am health professional and freelance writer, who have 4 years of experience in the field of freelance writing. I also offer paraphrasing/rewriting services to my clients.I love to work on subjects like HEALTH & fitness, fashion, travel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.