Families logo

The Rejected Love

The Last Princess

By Priscilla Juliet Published 12 months ago 4 min read
8
The Rejected Love
Photo by Brigitte Tohm on Unsplash

The Rejected Love

The Last Princess

Long, long ago, in an enormous castle. There was a mighty king with his three daughters. One sunny morning as the king was taking a stroll in his garden, he called his three daughters. He wanted to know how each of them loved him. He called, “my lovely daughters come here to me,

I have a question for you all.” Good morning father, what is that you want to ask us. Oh my dearest Flora, tell me, how much do you love your father?

I love you as much as I love gold. On hearing this the king puffed up with happiness. He then called out to the next daughter, my dearest Jessica, tell me how much do you love your father.

Oh father dear I love as much as I love diamonds.

On hearing this the king was even happier he then turned to his youngest daughter and asked the same question. Oh, my dearest Fiona, tell me how much do you love your father. Dear father, I love you as much as I love salt as Fiona said this her eyes glittered with love for her father, but the great king was so angry with his youngest daughter that he ordered her to get out of the palace forever. How can you say that for you is my value only as much as some salt? Get out of this kingdom now , you ungrateful little girl. Never come back here again and the furious king ordered to banish his daughter to the forest and close the gates of the palace on her.

Distressed and rejected devastated little Fiona wandered around the palace.

Suddenly, she heard the sound of a horse’s hooves galloping towards her, the frightened princess ran and hid inside the hollow of a tree bark at once. Oh, no who is that? What if he abducts me, Oh, Lord please save me. She said to herself. The horse stopped near the tree and a handsome young man jumped off to the ground. He had seen the princess hiding there and so he called out, “ oh, young woman don’t be afraid I will not harm you do you need any help. Who are you? I live in the neighboring kingdom. I am a wealthy merchant what are you doing all alone in this dense forest. Are you lost? The princess stepped out of the hollow tree back and started sobbing. She then told the young man about whichever had happened.

I love my father so much but he doesn’t understand. There will come a day when he will finally understand your love for him. Young princess don’t be disheartened the merchant and the princess quickly fell in love with each other and soon they were married.

Years had gone and one day the king lost his way while hunting in the forest. Finally as fate would have it he reached the doorstep of the wealthy merchant and ask for help. Oh young boy can you help me, I am lost I have been wandering in the forest for two days. I am tired and hungry. The merchant immediately recognized the king as his wife’s father. Despite knowing, he kept quiet about it and welcomed the king inside his house. Take some rest, I will arrange some food for you your majesty. The merchant went inside and told his wife about her father’s arrival. The young princess quickly dismissed the maids from the kitchen and decided to cook food on her own. You may leave I will cook the food today. After some time, a big feast was laid on the table for the king. There were variety of dishes and the king starving like anything dug into his meal and as soon as he took a bite, he got furious, “Oh Lord, what it this how can someone eat something like this. It has no taste. I demand to speak with the cook. Immediately to his amazement his daughter stood right there in front of him.

Hello father,

Your food tastes bad because there isn’t any salt in it. Our life would be terrible without salt enough food wouldn’t it. Do you now understand how much I love you my dearest, father. The King stood up with tears in his eyes and immediately pulled his daughter into his arms he embraced her and promised to never doubt the love she has for him ever again.

values
8

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Priscilla Juliet is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.