Families logo

THE PAIR I LIKE TO HAVE

WINE AND CHEESE

By rose m lewisPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
THE PAIR I LIKE TO HAVE
Photo by The Creative Exchange on Unsplash

Life would not be great if it was not for having the right combination of wine and cheese. I am Italian and with every meal, we had wine served with it. My grandfather grew red grapes and made his own wine. He had wine in the cellar fomenting, It was the best wine one would ever taste. I remember eating the grapes when I was a child. One day I sat eating grapes and I was almost sick. To this day I love grapes especially the green ones. The best way to celebrate holidays is to have family and friends at the table enjoying good food and drinks. Making your own cheese is best than buying it in the supermarket. Christmas is the one holiday when I make Cheese Balls. I serve it with a nice red or white wine. Thanks to my daughter who taught me how to make the great cheese ball.

The story is simple, cheese and wine go together like coffee and pie! I buy white or red wine that I know are from Italy or Germany. A glass of great German wine is Schwarze Katz. And a great glass of Italian wine is Calabria I buy these two wines many times and especially when I have company. They also like the wines and I also serve the cheese I make with the wine. I am from an Italian family with the motto (Drink And Be Merry)! We love family and friends coming over to celebrate holidays. Birthdays are always celebrated in a big way in our families. There is always a birthday cake, ice cream, and presents!

I love to celebrate Christmas in a big way! I always try to make everyone happy on Christmas day. I love seeing presents under the tree and the excitement when family and friends open their gifts. The meal is almost like Thanksgiving and wine and cheese are served with it. There is no better holiday than Christmas because of being with people you love. Other holidays are nice too but I like Christmas the most!

CHRISTMAS AT HOME

THE LOVE OF CHRISTMAS

Christmas is a time when Santa Clause comes to your home. You put cookies and a glass of milk for him. The children are nestled in their bed sleeping. All the hard work that was done for all is done. Now is the time for you to have a snack, and have red wine and cheese! It is time for you to relax and enjoy your alone time until morning comes. In the morning the children will wake up and all the excitement will start!

CHRISTMAS DINNER

By Maddi Bazzocco on Unsplash

Christmas dinner at my home is having Ham, Mashed Potatoes, Vegetables, and Wine. My son-in-law did not want me and my daughter slave in the kitchen cooking. Last year we had Stouffer's Lasagna for dinner with a glass of good Red Wine! It was a blessing that we didn't have a lot of cooking to do! Out with the old tradition, in with the new tradition! We were able to enjoy each other's company more! I really like the idea my daughter and I enjoyed being with each other rather than having to cook. We talked and relaxed in the living room while waiting for the Lasagna to bake in the oven. After dinner, we opened the gifts, which was great! After we opened the gifts we had coffee, pie, and cheesecake. We had a great Christmas and after my company went home I relaxed, watched a movie, and went to bed.

By Apostolos Vamvouras on Unsplash

The best part of waking up the next day is having a good cup of coffee. I did not have many dishes to clean. I only had to put some dishes in the dishwasher and put it on. The rest of the day was my time to relax and do nothing! Christmas was over and I worked hard wrapping presents and doing all that I had to do before the big holiday. I was real busy baking, and doing all the things that needed to be done. Even with doing everything I had to do I love the Christmas holiday.

extended family
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.