Families logo

THE MAN I NEVER KNEW (BAD BLOOD)

A point of view from the daughter he never knew.

By Theresa FeenerPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like
Owen Feener

Please enjoy my story.

Let me start by saying that I would also like apologize to the families that Mickey Feener changed forever, my deepest sympathy.

What happens to the people who started a life with this terrible person? and does it have anything to do with the path they took in life?

This is a true story and actual account of the events that took place in the court room in 1960 reported from the Solicitor General, of a murderer by the name of Owen Maxwell Feener, known to the streets as Mickey.

Charged with capital punishment Timiskaming District Jail (Haileybury, ON). There were 9 persons hanged at the Timiskaming District Jail. The jail closed in 1998. Owen Feener was the last one to be hanged in 1961. He killed his girlfriend, but was also know to have allegedly killed 7 other women. Unfortunately at the time there was not the technology there is to today or the other women's families would probably have closure, which I am so sorry for.

I would like to let the public know that, even though there are despicable people in the world and they are as evil as known to man, some do not realize that many of these evil people, have families that were left behind to suffer the consequences of their actions, if not physically, then mentally.

Does it have to do with the path we take, or do these people look at life or behave differently than others?. Yet not even know it.

Even being a very young baby and still seeing things that no one should see. Violence and hatred and not remember consciously but could be a slightly effected in some way unconsciously.

I was just a little girl of 5 or 6, asking my mother “where is my real daddy” (knowing I had a stepfather) she looks at me with disappointment in her eyes and says “he is 6 feet under ground and I am glad he is there”.

She did not realize at that moment a little girls outlook on life and feelings about herself had changed.

When I was growing up I always felt unloved and unwanted. I needed to find out why the things

happened to me the way they did. I have always tried to be the best person I could, and what

others see as bad, I tried to see some good. I know it is said that god has a plan for all of us.

But during my journey of life I needed to finally figured out why I was the one everyone gave up

on. Even now in my older years I find myself sometimes feeling alone and unwanted..

Like any other ordinary baby I came into this world on Mar 26, 1959 by a women and a man, the girl was 17 and the man was 22. Much to young to have children, I was the only one born to them.

The women was a very pretty girl, with blond hair and a beautiful smile with a slight build, the man a strapping young boy with blond hair, green eyes, and quite the ladies man.

They gave birth to a cute blond hair, green eyed sweet baby girl.

Unfortunately, the mom and child could not know what type of life was ahead of them.

In 1959 a man by the name of Owen Maxwell Feener changed not only the family’s lives of his victims but the life of a mother giving birth to a beautiful baby girl that was born from his bad blood, he would never know.

According to the Red Eagle Newspaper circa Apr. 28th 1963, quote “ Eight photos adorn the dashboard, all of young women either missing or dead” on a fire engine red sports car an Austin Healy Sprint (which he killed for and would be one of many) with MICKEY across the hood. Eight girls who were strangers to one another, though each of them had come into contact with “a blond giant”.

Was I mean’t to have this life due to the sins of my father...on the evening of Oct. 4th 1960, Mickey and a women buy the name of Kathleen Chouinor went on a date in this little red sports car, during the evening he had mention things about another women Cathie Essers that he had seen about one year ago, which made Kathleen a bit nervous. Normally a conversation like this would not make any major reaction, but due to the topic about a murder he had committed ,which caused Kathleen(Kay) to argue with him about going to the police, as a result of this argument Miss Chouinor was then killed with a knife and a flashlight and with his big hulking arms took her out of the car and threw her against a hill three times on the side of the road which broke her hip not to mention other bones and left her to die. One of the reasons of her demise was that the red sports car he was driving was that of the women he had killed a year before whose name was Cathie Essers.

We are (my mom and I) standing in a phone booth just moments from where she will leave me until I was 16 to18 years old. I am just an 11 year old innocent little girl, I look up at my mother and ask her, “mommy why can’t you come with me please?” as she looked at me without any emotion at all she said, “ I can’t honey, I have a husband and three other children to take care of” at that moment I felt I was not’ meant to have any family. And so that is what happened.

The mother, the husband and the three other children went on to live their lives and not even take a second to wonder if the little girl that was given away was even alive. They moved without tell her and when she was old enough to take a bus from where she was living at the time., was only when someone remembered about her. Although the family would come and visit their friends every once in awhile, it was not to check if she was doing alright, but to enjoy themselves. While she sat huddled in her room, crying due to unspeakable things that were done to her by the couple’s son, the people the mother had given her to.

On Oct. 5th, by coincidence, he had been arrested a Kirkland Lade for failure to pay on old traffic ticket. Mickey was then taken into custody and on the same date the R.C.M.P were notified, due to their investigating the death of Miss Essers had arrived in Kirkland Lake to question him. Mr. Feener did admit he was with Cathie Essers on a trip from Toronto to Nova Scotia, but had said that she had hit him with a bottle of beer, so he had throttled her and drove away with her car and some of her personal belonging, but did not mention anything about her death, stating he left her alive. At which time he admitted to killing Miss Chouinor and then subsequently lead police to her body which was severely bruised and bore seven knife wounds 11 miles from Timmins.

Mickey was also suspected of the killing of Miss Dolly Woods a 16 year old waitress from Kirkland Lake, one month after the day I came into the world and the year that he left my mother and I to fend for ourselves.

On further investigation I found out that Owen Feener came from a disturbed home and even at the tender age of 12 was a trouble maker and known to the local police. After being placed in a

Nova Scotia Training home he would run away back to his mother. From 1950 to 1955 Mickey was found guilty of several car thefts and various robberies. After leaving his wife and daughter in 1959-1960, Feener went to go live with another girl in Toronto.

My mother was born to a women she never got to know and a man that had an affair with her, while his wife lay dying in the hospital. My mother never actually found out about her family until she was well into her late 40‘s early 50‘s, they were based in Nova Scotia, but that is another story.

I guess I was doomed even before I was even thought of.

My mother married my stepfather when I was still a little girl, so he was the only one I knew as my "father", I always wondered why he treated me so different then his own children saying things like “take it with you” referring to me, when he and my mother would fight and believe me there were allot of fights. This was one of main reasons my mother put me with her friends. I was not sure if it was to save me from the physical and mental abuse I was receiving at home or if it was to get rid of me, because I came from “him” Owen Feener.

My mother passed away in November of 2010 while having brain surgery, taking any information about my birth father to her grave and I would never know the reason she gave me a last name of someone so evil or how my life was before she remarried . Which left such a whole in me that I had to do this research just to get some closure for myself. She refused to talk about him (Owen) which made me believe even more that I was born from bad blood.

There was to be no mercy or claiming insanity for the man that brutally killed women for no other reason than to take what he wanted, that he could not obtain himself.

They say that one that has been abused, will abuse. Well I am tell you that is not always true because I never abused my son or made him feel unloved even though I was on the same path as my mother, with my sons father whom was never there and a violent drunk. I took my son when he was 6 months old and did everything I could to give him a loving life, I raised him to be a good person and always look at things for the good in them and never tell him that he came from bad blood.

We have been told that God has a plan for all of us, whether it be good or bad it is our outline until the time we die..

It is amazing how the life of my mother and my father may have influenced the choices and the things that occurred in my life. Choosing a wrong partner, going the wrong way and making bad decisions. Having bad things thrust upon me. Was this my outline? I would never understand why.

I am now into my 50‘s and although it has taken me this long to find out about Owen Maxwell Feener, I feel a sense of understanding myself and the life I choose along the way, making mistakes, trying to learn from them, making the same mistakes and never knowing why.

I am not saying that I blame everything I have done on my parents or the lives they led, I am saying I understand myself a little bit better and the reason I say I was born from bad blood.

Thank you for taking the time to read something I have been wanting to say for a very long time.

I hope you enjoyed it as much as I enjoyed writing it.

This story is more about the life I was born into then how I ended up.

I wrote this story not to accuse anyone but to get to know myself within..

THE END

If I find anything more I will post it. I hope you understand what I was trying to say!!

Thank you for reading my life story, or at least some of it.

(I truly apologize to the families of the people named above for any feeling I might have stirred up)

literature
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.