Families logo

The Life of Nana

Learning new things

By Tabatha N. NaborsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Life of Nana
Photo by Caleb Steele on Unsplash

I am the proud nana of 3 beautiful grandchildren, two of which I am helping raise. Everyday, is a new adventure. Learn things that have been forgotten, or things I have never even heard of before.

My grandson, Blaise, who is 4 is the oldest of three. He lives with me, along with his one year old baby sister, Harper Grace.

Today, our newest imagination game, was the Echo Monster. lol.. He would yell, not real loud, but yell. Then, he would say, "Nana do you hear that?" "Hear what?" I asked. Then he would yell, and then continued softer and softer.. then he tells me it's the Echo Monster.

So I asked him, "Does the Echo Monster laugh?" He replied with, "No nana, he doesn't laugh." I frowned, as I raised up my hand and made the claw formation with it, and began to tickle him. I said, "So, I thought the Echo Monster didn't laugh." He continued to laugh then said, "But nana, you tickling me."

I love our little adventures. Everyday is always something new and exciting. When I pick them up after a hard day at work, I get excited about what our next adventure will be when we get home.

The imagination of our children, takes us to worlds we have never explored before or see things we have never even imagined to dream of. We have sailed on pirate ships looking for dragons, to Echo Monster and also pretending he is catboy, full costume with cat speed..lol.. It's amazing how the smallest things can keep them entertained at such young ages.. I love their imaginations and so blessed that I get to be a part of it.

Harper's one adventure was attempting to climb the Christmas tree. Since, this will be her first Christmas where she is big enough to actually enjoy the lights, and the excitement of Santa. We put up and decorated the tree and window a little early this year for them to enjoy. While I was putting away the boxes of unused ornaments, she attempted to "climb the tree", next thing I know her and the Christmas tree were in the floor. lol. She was just laid out in the floor, tree on top of her, and she was laughing. Thankfully she wasn't hurt, but neither was the tree. But it also taught her, apparently, not to climb a tree that wasn't attacked to the ground by roots. Now, she just looks at it when the lights are on, in awe, eager to touch, but won't.

The Christmas tree survived the wrath of Harper Grace.. lol.. However, my reindeer in the window, wasn't as fortunate as the tree. Since she isn't quite 2 yet, and just now really able to "get into things" she wasn't in to much trouble. She only broke the antlers off the reindeer. So I guess you can say they survived as well. Is it just my grandchildren, or does all kids, love to try and climb the Christmas tree, when they get to the age of really being able to see the tree for the very first time. Last Christmas, she was only 9 months old, and still trying to learn to walk.

I look forward to the many adventures to come. They may not always be with me everyday in the future. That is another story for another time, but as long as they are here, I will cherish every moment. Everyday is a new adventure. I am so thankful that I can be a part of it, and I am definitely enjoying the ride.

Here's to a day in the life of Nana..

Our adventures will be continued.........

grandparents
Like

About the Creator

Tabatha N. Nabors

I'm a Christian. I love RP'ing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.