Families logo

The Ledger

The Little Black Book

By Adam StanbridgePublished 3 years ago Updated about a year ago 5 min read
1
The Ledger
Photo by Batu Gezer on Unsplash

My Uncle Mark was a good man who worked harder than anyone else. People would always ask why he did it and he’d always reply,

“Life’s what you make of it and I want mine to be spectacular.” He would say.

So there I stood at his wake surrounded by his friends and family. Though everyone was sad we were smiling because of the precious memories he left us with. Every group was laughing as they retold old stories of Uncle Mark. Donning the suit I wore to funerals and weddings, I stood off to the side staring out the window. There was a slight drizzle, appropriate for the day. I was content being alone with my thoughts until Mark’s widow, Beth, tapped me on the shoulder.

“Ben, you should be mingling. You might not see some of these people again till I die.” Beth said.

I turned and faced her.

“Jeez just pull the arm out if you’re going twist it that much,” I replied.

We laughed before hugging.

“How are you holding up?” I asked.

“I thought today would be a lot harder but everyone’s been so supportive. It really has made things easier.” Beth replied. “But back on topic! Go talk to people.”

“But...” I began.

“But nothing!” Beth snapped before adding. “Play your cards right and you might have a shot with Tamara over there.”

“Which one’s she?” I asked.

“I seem to have your attention now. She’s the one wearing black.” Beth joked.

“Very funny,” I replied.

“Over there, the tall brunette,” Beth said as she gestured toward a group of people.

I glanced over to see a tall, slender and stunning woman talking with a group of older people. She was one hundred percent my type

“Where do you suggest I start?” I ask Beth.

“With your name,” Beth said as she pushed me toward the group.

“She’s a funny one,” I thought as I made my way over to the group.

A few days later, after having coffee with Tamara, I stopped by the lawyer’s office for the reading of the will. All went as one would expect save a few trinkets everything was left to Beth. Well, everything except twenty thousand dollars and a sealed parcel which was left to me. I was informed there would be a letter in the parcel that I must read before doing anything else. So when I got home as the most envied man in my family I opened the parcel. I was surprised to find an old black ledger along with the note which had “important” written on it in big red writing. I opened the letter and began reading. It claimed that the ledger was a cursed item that would grant the user any amount at a price. The price, misfortune on the ones I love. He warned me not to get greedy and that I was the one he trusted the most with this burden. Suddenly I had to know so I began flicking through the ledger and sure enough, it was there. One of the last entries, made on the day my cousin died was four hundred and fifty thousand dollars. I was halfway to the barbecue when I stopped myself.

“If it was that easy, he’d have done it instead of buying that home.” I thought.

I sat back down and went back to the letter. Sure enough, there was a warning that if I destroyed the book, I too would perish.

“Great.” I thought.

There was one thing that I thought was useful. The scale seemed proportional. A cup of coffee equals a stubbed toe. A lifetimes savings and I’m down a cousin. Although he had his suspicions that there were blips of unfair exchange he could never prove it never-the-less he did warn me of his suspicions. And so I kept the ledger, using it only in dire straits. Time passed, Tamara grew more beautiful and other than the time she set her hair on fire, no one really reported any misfortune. As such, I became slightly more lenient with how I used the ledger. Occasionally using it to buy Tamara things. Like the anniversary dinner that gave her food poisoning. We laughed for ages about that. Life was good. There were dramas, like any time one of the people Tamara was taking care of died she’d need support. The amazing thing about her is even at times like those she never regretted becoming an aged care nurse. As for me, I made manager at the electronics store I worked in, and so the ledger got used less and less.

Two years and six months after I received the ledger, Tamara sat me down for a talk. At first, I was worried by the look on her face but then she spoke.

“Ben. I’m pregnant.” She uttered.

I was thrilled!

“That’s fantastic.” I blurted.

I kissed her and then hugged her. She never saw the look that crossed my face when the thought, “children are expensive” entered my mind. So for the next eight months, I started saving. Both from my job and a little top-up from the ledger. Things were going well. After eight months I had saved almost one hundred thousand dollars in a secret bank account.

One day I was out buying a cup of coffee and was a little short. Rather than dip into our savings over something so trivial, I figured I’d use the ledger. I excused myself and pretended to be on the phone while I scribbled in the ledger. I returned and asked the barista to try the card again. It worked because of course it did. I was almost out the door when my phone rang. It was Tamara.

“Come quick!” Something’s wrong.” She groaned.

“I’m on my way,” I exclaimed.

My stomach was in knots the entire drive home and following the ambulance to the hospital. They took Tamara into the surgery where she remained for some time. When the doctor came out you could have cut the tension with a knife.

“I’m sorry. She had a miscarriage.” The doctor said.

The bottom of my stomach dropped out and everything faded away.

“I did this.” I thought as I collapsed back in my chair.

When Tamara woke her first question was about the baby. I couldn’t speak but she read it on my face. I stayed until visiting hours ended. I don’t think Tamara stopped crying the whole time. As for me, I knew what I had to do. And so there were two things I picked up on the way home. A bottle of Jack and a tin of lighter fluid. I was almost through the Jack Daniels when I couldn’t take it anymore. I got up and took the ledger to the barbecue and proceeded to douse it in lighter fluid. I finished the Jack and threw a match at the ledger. With all my heart I hoped Tamara would be okay as the flames began to lick my body.

“Satan please be merciful,” I whispered before losing consciousness and dying.

***

Thank you for reading a ThisIsOmniWar.com story

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Adam Stanbridge

All my stories are linked and are part of the same "Universe" I'm actively forging. I can also be found on OpenScreenplay, Facebook, thisisomniwar.com and of course am a member of the AWG.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Ugn! That was a brutal ending. Really great story though. Thought it was true. haha

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.