Families logo

The Joyful Art of Scrapbooking

Every picture clipped, snipped or cut by scissors tells a story

By Saja Bo StormPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

The Joyful Art of Scrapbooking

Every picture cut, snipped and clipped by scissors tells a story.

The world-renowned artist Romare Bearden would have been a great scrap-booker. Since the concept of Scrapbooking is about taking scraps, and other pieces of material to create a visionary explosion of cohesive imagery, the ‘Father of Collage’ would have excelled at the craft. He was also an author and songwriter heavily influenced by the artists of the Harlem Renaissance. His art especially collage and photomontage prove that colorful images can impact its audience and tell a story, evoke an emotion, and relay a powerful message about the community and even the world. That's what Scrapbooking does for me. The inspiration from Romare Bearden encouraged me, someone who is not a renowned artist or even a professional one to create art through my scrapbooking. When I look at his collages whether it be The Block, Jazz, Kansas City, Mother and Child, Young Students, Carolina Shout, or any other of his collages, I am inspired to create.

The difference is that Scrapbooking is a craft that requires certain simple materials which assist you in the ability to create a fantastic storytelling vehicle using pictures, photos, papers, magazine clippings, buttons, sequins and even glitter. All you need are a pair of scissors, a glue stick, paper, pictures, and your imagination.

The cover of 'Bring Your Heart to my House' Scrapbook

A pair of scissors is the perfect tool to help you cut around the edges of photographs and create decorative edges for your construction or fancy paper. Growing up, I was told to follow two important rules about scissors. Don’t run with scissors and never hand someone the sharp side. In Scrapbooking, you never have to worry about running. It is a seated activity. On the other hand, you can figuratively ‘run’ with your scissors to create a beautiful project. In researching the art of Scrapbooking, I’ve discovered many important things. Cutting out shapes and objects can improve your health. Scrapbooking has benefits for the young and the old. For the adult, because you are using your hands when creating art, you can improve blood flow and dexterity in your fingers, hands, and arms. For children, it improves manual dexterity.

We decorate our rooms rooms for the weekend activities

Creating art causes our brain to reshape and restructure itself which leads to increased cognitive function. Our brains age, but creative abilities do not necessarily deteriorate as we get older. Furthermore, Scrapbooking art has other benefits which include relieving stress, building self-esteem, relieving anxiety and boosting confidence for both adults and children. Scrapbooking is a craft I am extremely passionate about because it has brought me a lot of happiness. The more I do it, the better I feel. For this reason, I have created over 20 scrapbooks for several occasions and for various reasons I crafted a collection of over 10 scrapbooks for an annual party at my home I named ‘Bring your Heart to my House.’

We enjoyed a Tea Tasting Contest

The theme of the event was intended to boost awareness of the importance of heart health for women since the number of women who were succumbing to heart disease had risen over the last couple of decades. And still today according to the American Heart Association, cardiovascular diseases continue to be a woman’s greatest health threat. My event was always given on the weekend before or after Valentine's Day which coincided with the ‘Go Red for Women’ campaign sponsored by the American Heart Association. After the party, there were always plenty of pictures of my guests who included family, friends, and coworkers. So, I would be inspired to put the pictures of all the people, food, activities and construct a scrapbook to share always at the next year's event.

Our invitation flyer for the Heart Healthy event

Another reason for doing the scrapbook was to celebrate holidays, milestone birthdays, retirements, anniversaries, sporting events, vacations, and graduations. One of the scrapbook projects I created was completed during my recovery from surgery. Since I couldn't drive or do anything strenuous, I felt the need to spend my time crafting a scrapbook of the family. It included photographs of my great grandparents, grandparents, parents, siblings, and my husband and children. I also included my husband’s side of the family. The scrapbook included pictures of our old family homes, childhood neighborhoods, religious ceremonies, holidays, celebrations, get- togethers and other formal and informal gatherings. The thing about scrapbooking that I love the most is that it is an activity so easy that requires a simple, but necessary tool like a pair of scissors but the pride and joy you receive back from completing this activity is insurmountable. You have a feeling of freedom involving a joyful activity that gives you a wonderful feeling of accomplishment. The result to behold is a finished product that is both a beautiful piece of art and a meaningful legacy of your most special memories.

10 years of fun celebrated fabulously

If you don't know what to do with all those pictures and photos you've thrown in draws and in shoe boxes, Scrapbooking is the best answer for all your clutter and piece of mind. I think that if I wanted to start up a new career, it would be teaching a Scrapbooking class. Before the pandemic, one of my friends sent me a link to sign up to demonstrate and teach Scrapbooking at one of the leading crafts stores.

We relaxed, enjoyed each other's company and ate delicious food. Cheers!

One day I might be able to do just that. But in the meanwhile, just remember that it doesn't cost a lot to scrapbook. All you need are a pair of scissors, a glue stick, construction paper, and a flat surface or desktop and at the top of the list a desire to be creative. I often pull out my scrapbooks to reminisce about the fabulous events, holidays, vacations, birthday parties, retirement parties, anniversaries, and family gatherings I have participated in with loved ones. The memories in my scrapbooks will preserve a legacy for the future generations of our family. Some of the people are no longer with us, but they are forever preserved and remembered in my scrapbooks.

The back scrapbook cover

art
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.