Families logo

The Joy of Crocheting Creation

Bring happiness and joy with your creativity!

By Samirra ElsaiehPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3

I've always considered myself a creative thinking person. I'm not always able to express it but I love to create artistic and tedious things. I like t0 draw, write poetry & create stories, design clothes and create & discover different beautiful hairstyles for my girls. Recently I have been discovering my skill at Crocheting.

My mother has always been very good at it and she started teaching me how to do it when I was about 10. We didn't always have money like that, so a lot of times we had to use the talents we had when we wanted to gift something to friends and family. Whether it was a beautiful blanket for a baby new or hats, scarves and mittens for me and my siblings when it was starting to get cold, it would always turn out beautiful. And my mom really loved making them.

I thought is was a fine time to apply what she taught me, as a mother myself. It took me a while to feel confident enough to make something for someone because I didn't want them to be disappointed. But I am very proud of what I've made.

The pictures above are my two most recent creations. I made something for my aunt and my youngest child.

First the one on the left:

My aunt (wearing the scarf) and her friend are very close. I think her friend loves her just as much as I do. But my aunt has gone through some rough times in her life and one of them is the reason for the scarf she is proudly wearing and had to show off to her friend. She is a Breast Cancer Survivor and I wanted give her something from my heart to show her I will always be there to give her my love and support. Almost every year I go on the Cancer walk in her honor, always wishing she could be there with me. But her health has never allowed her to go along with me. So I decided I wanted to give her something that she could wear while she watched the walk from home. I used light pink, fuchsia and white and I event included the Pink "ribbon". When I gave it to her, and saw her happy tears made me so proud, and I cried too.

It took me about 2 weeks to make it. I had to remember what my mother taught me about adding colors and cutting the yarn just right to make sure I had enough to continue crocheting until it was to my liking. Now my aunt wears it all the time and when its hot out, she still carries it with her. She calls it her "Battle Scarf"! She's so proud of that scarf!

Now for the two on the right:

I love my children and I am so proud of them and their accomplishments. So when they ask me for something, if they earn it and I can do it for them I will. This is my beautiful youngest daughter. Her and her sister LOVE unicorns!! So when she saw me making the scarf for my aunt, she asked me if could make her something with a unicorn on it. So I measured and cut off some yarn around her head to make sure it would fit and made her an ear cover/headband.

I used light pink and black for the band and white, light pink and gray for the unicorn. I did my best to make unicorn as pretty as possible I think I did a good job on that too. Her smile was all I needed to see and she told me she LOVED it! She didn't even have to say it though, the sparkle in her eyes was enough for me and it was so genuine that it made me get goosebumps. That's the feeling I love to get when some one truly appreciates something you've made for them.

I have made other things in the past as well, but these two things will always hold a special place in my heart. So for all of the beautiful and creative people out there, I encourage you to let your creative juices flow and show the world its resulting beauty. You'll be very glad you did!

HAPPY CREATING!!!

art
3

About the Creator

Samirra Elsaieh

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.