Families logo

The Impostor

A parent's love

By Lynn “Lynn” xiePublished 9 months ago 3 min read
1

1.The Impostor

An elderly woman received a fraudulent call, the caller deceitfully claimed to be her son, even though her son had passed away two years ago.

However, the imposter's voice was uncannily similar to her son's, and she couldn't bring herself to hang up.

The scammer rattled on, realizing he couldn't deceive her at all.

Finally, she revealed the truth and made one last request to the caller:

"Say it once more before we end!"

After a moment's pause, the impostor said, "Take care, Mom."

Then, he hung up the phone.

Reflection:

A parent's love for their child knows no bounds, often so immense that facing loss becomes even harder to bear.

Parents, towards their children, should offer more understanding. Don't always keep them sheltered; accept the inevitable truth that they will eventually leave.

Children, towards their parents, should show more care. Life often keeps us apart more than together; don't let your parents wait for you for too long.

2. "Hair Dye"

Today, my dad was at home dyeing his hair on his own.

I teased him, saying, "Dad, you're almost 60, why bother dyeing your hair? Are you trying to turn back the clock?"

My dad replied:

"Every time I go back to my hometown, I dye my hair black. That way, your grandmother will think I'm still young when she sees me, and she won't feel old either."

Reflection:

No matter how old we get, in front of our parents, we will always be children.

We can be spoiled, we can have candy, because parents will endlessly accommodate and indulge us.

As Bi Shumin said:

"While parents are here, life still has a source; when parents are gone, life only has a way back."

In the days that are still within reach, spend more time with your parents and tell them, "Mom, Dad, you've worked hard!"

3. "One Cent"

When I was eight years old, driven by my insatiable appetite, I stole a one-cent coin from home. My mother discovered it and made me kneel before our ancestors in reprimand.

Being stubborn by nature, even when my mother asked me to get up later, I refused and went on a hunger strike.

Finally, unable to endure any longer, I secretly sneaked into the kitchen and found a plate of fried rice with eggs. After eating it all, I realized my mother was standing behind me.

She said:

"Do you know why I made you kneel?"

I replied, "Because we are poor."

My mother said, "Because we must have dignity."

Reflection:

There's a saying, "Do not underestimate a poor young person." Being poor is not terrifying; what's terrifying is losing one's spirit due to poverty, surrendering to oneself because of it.

The lack of money can be compensated for through hard work, but the lack of spirit can accompany a person throughout their life. Don't fear the long road; fear having a short aspiration.

4."The Last Meeting"

Once, while on a train journey, I found myself seated between two elderly women. One was seeing the other off, and they held hands, murmuring to each other non-stop.

As the train was about to depart, one of the women got off, turned back, and said:

"Sister, I'm 89 years old this year, and you're 90. This is the last time we'll ever meet in our lifetimes..."

Reflection:

Sometimes, with just a single turn, a moment can become forever.

Take the time to appreciate what you have around you, cherish every day you possess. Life will hold more warmth and beauty.

artadvice
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.