Families logo

The Gift

"The meaning of life is to find your gift. The purpose of life is to give it away." - Pablo Picasso

By Nicole P.Published 3 years ago 6 min read
1
The Gift
Photo by Inesa Cebanu on Unsplash

Obstruct. Congest. Jam. Clog. Choke. Inhibit. Hinder. Impede! Ugh all signs point to me having writers’ block. Why is this novel so hard to start, I never have this much trouble with my short stories?

I push my laptop away in disgust as I stare at these offensively painted walls, I wonder who in their right mind chooses Pepto Bismol as their wall color. Looking out the one small window in this room the world doesn’t look any better. Ashy gray skies, wet brown grass, and the only sounds that can be heard are the harsh howls of the wind. Who would be inspired under these conditions!

I think back to one of my favorite movies, Misery, and I don’t even have to wonder what Mr. Paul Sheldon would do, but he had the means to travel to that little cabin surrounded by mountains and fresh powder white snow, I don’t. I need a jump start and there is something about writing a little blurb, poem, or short story that helps to get the creative juices flowing. Time to take out my little black book and dream my sorrows away.

Everyone dreams of hitting it big playing the lottery, but come on what are the odds. I work at a grocery store at the customer desk and I cannot tell you how many people come and go dropping serious money on these tickets and cards, I could never. One of my regulars, Mr. Moore, faithfully spends at least $200 each week. He’s in his 60s but takes great care of himself, he has one of those laughs that make you laugh even if what was said wasn’t funny. He retired last year so he never seems to be in a rush or hard up for cash, but always says that if I sell him the winning ticket, he’ll give me 10% and he always stays true to his word whether he wins $5 or $500 he tries to slide me a 10% finder’s fee but I never take it.

One day as I was getting into my car leaving work someone snuck up behind me and I nearly maced the poor man before I realized it was just Mr. Moore. He looked so happy! “Sorry to startle you but I have a gift for you and didn’t want to give it to you while you were on the clock. I’m moving to be closer to my kids and wanted to say farewell.” He handed me a pretty powder blue gift bag and told me to open it at home. Normally I wouldn’t accept but it was a small gift bag and he was moving so I graciously accepted and wished him safe travels.

As instructed, I waited until I got home and opened my gift. Inside was a beautiful Moleskine Sakura Notebook, he knew I loved to write and my dream was to a published author. I ran my hand over the soft satin pink cover, it was beautifully decorated with cherry blossoms. I held it to my nose and inhaled wishing it was scented and release a disappointed yet satisfied sigh. I remove the last of the tissue paper in the bag to ensure I didn’t miss a little card and found nothing was there. I wish I would have gotten his new address so I could send him a thank you card.

I opened the notebook to explore all of its features and I noticed the first page had writing on it.

"Jasmine,

I know how you are about accepting gifts so if you’re reading this my story worked! It has been a pleasure coming in each week to play the lottery at your store, you make losing not hurt as bad. Honestly, there is a store closer to my house that I could go to but then I wouldn’t have someone to joke around with and listen to me complain about music and young people these days. I have enjoyed the short stories you’ve shared with me over the years so I figure you’d put this notebook to good use, but there is one condition I don’t want you to write in it until you’re in Japan sitting under a cherry blossom tree with a little cup of sake beside you. You see Jasmine I’m moving to be closer to my children because my doctor has told me I may not have much longer, but don’t mourn for me I have made sure to live this past year to the fullest. However, before I go, I want to leave you with a gift. Inside this notebook somewhere you’ll find a cashier’s check for $20,000 and a round trip first class open ticket to Japan. You always talked about going now there isn’t anything stopping you. Thank you for the gift of friendship and laughter I hope my gift enables you to share your gift with the world. As promised, here is your 10% finder’s fee of my lifetime of wins (plus a little extra), goodbye my friend.

Sincerely,

Mr. Moore"

[Silence] I stared at the words but couldn’t believe them. I lifted the notebook up and gave it a little wiggle side to side and sure enough a check and plane ticket fell out. I wiped the tears from my eyes and immediately called my job and told them I would be gone for a week. There was no need to delay, I called the airline and selected my dates and went to my bedroom to pack, I would honor Mr. Moore’s wishes.

I glanced down at the notebook then out the planes’ window soaring above the clouds. So many feelings...sadness, thankfulness, worry, happiness, excitement, curiosity, nervousness, and blessed all wrapped up in one heart.

I arrived in Tokyo and checked in to one of the best resorts near Hirosaki Castle Park. Thanks to Mr. Moore I don’t have to worry about the cost. The people, the food, the culture, the architecture, the experience! I was living...but I didn’t forget who was dying.

The next morning, I headed to Hirosaki Castle Park and rented a boat to take in all of the beautiful cherry blossom trees. I floated along the moat while soft pillows of petals grazed my face as they danced in the air falling from the trees. I inhaled for as long as I could and let out a satisfied sigh. Afterwards, I returned to the park grounds and walked around until I felt the pull of a single tree. I took my blanket out of the picnic basket I had brought along with me and spread it on the grass directly under the cherry blossom tree. I sat down and remove the remaining contents from my basket: my Sakura journal, a pen, and a choko I bought in town along with a small bottle of sake. I poured myself a little and looked towards the sky before taking a sip, here’s to you Mr. Moore, as I begin to write my first best seller.

Yes, that was a nice little escape, these walls don’t look as pink and the sun is breaking through those gray clouds. I close my small black notebook and head back to my laptop, Chapter 1.

travel
1

About the Creator

Nicole P.

Writing has always been my release thank you for reading my heART.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.