Families logo

The Forbidden Fruit

To My Darling Son

By Bernadine JarmonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

O “Mercy Mercy me” I was a teenage girl when I born you into this evil, crooked world. I had no idea my life was going to be all shook up, by a ball of confusion. I worshipped chaos and the wild darkness of addiction and lust, that thrust me to dust, since you were five years old.

I never meant to cause you so much pain and sorrow, O sweet child of mine. My heart is falling apart inside of my soul, as I write these words of forgiveness. My eyes are consumed with running tears, as I break from the past, to speak to your heart. I wish I could take the pain and shut it up, but I can’t.

As I look back on the anger at the sound of madness, I see portraits of you, clouded with slow burning sadness. I savage my grace, on the road of perdition, looking for a hot pursuit of women and crack cocaine deep and wide as the earth. This deadly affliction of mine had me suffering for a number of years, on broken flowers. I was falling on black days, of dark times, that kept me bound by sin, that caused me to become comfortably numb. Hope was a dangerous thing for a woman like me to have, because I was nothing but an empty shell.

I couldn’t break the grip of shame, while I suffered extreme embarrassment, because my brain was hanging upside down inside my head. I was having a blast of frustration from a bad habit that left us on skid row. My lack of success left you disappointed and increasingly broken-hearted. Every seed I planted never grew, because a hard addiction crippled the ground. All I could do is cry a river of tears.

For a long time you wandered in fear, watching me slowly disappear, into a war zone. I was ambushed by an entourage of artillery, while my booby-trapped emotions exploded in tiny bits of pain. I made a huge breach of hurt in the spirit of your fragile heart. I wanted so desperately to break off this meaningless life I was living. I had to charge off as a bad case of hopelessness.

My life was completely destroyed by hostility, and I was badly disfigured by an acid rain of feelings. My fantasies strangled the ring of encirclement, until I was enveloped in blankets of disgust. My bones were laid dead, on a killing field of massive distress. My pleasure overwatched my excessive over indulgence, until I was taken captive by abuse. My thoughts patrolled the bizarre rages that kept me bound and secluded from you.

Here I am standing at the entrance of your heart, pleading with tears as big as an apple. Let me lead you through the waters of love that pass the conception of a dead mother’s love for her one and only child. I had suffered a great deal of hurt under the supervision of lust and addiction, and yet instead of getting better, I grew worst, lying on a bed of spiritual death.

Son you are the words of unconditional love with a great expression of inspiration. A thousand words wouldn’t be enough to describe the words of us. Your music is my unspoken words of wisdom, that’s why we belong to the words we write. It’s like a mother’s love on music row.

Listen to the words of this book to heal your wounded pain. My writing is a piece of what you need. My creative captivity will burn your soul, while your heart is pumping to a brand new beat. Your music, harmony, and rhythm makes my book dance to four simple words, while our duet hits me like a rock.

I’m so sorry for the long history of grief I bestowed upon of you. Will you find it in your heart to forgive me? I will never ever break your heart again. I love you from the highest mountain, my darling handsome son. Thank you for inspiring me to write a book.

children
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.