Families logo

The Experiment

Double the money

By TG GilliamPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
4
The Experiment
Photo by Alexander Mils on Unsplash

The Experiment

Double the money

“Mom, I need some money!” I called out from my bedroom.

“I gave you this week's allowance yesterday,” My mom replied.

“I spent it already.”

“Too bad.”

“MOM!” I yelled, “I NEED some money! I owe Angela for tickets and a shirt.”

My mom came into my room shaking her head. “You can’t come running to me every time you run out of money. We are trying to help you become a responsible, functioning human capable of paying her own way in this world. Otherwise, your father and I won’t be able to rely on you taking care of us in our old age,” she teased.

“Mom, I’m serious. Angela needs me to pay her back and I said I would.”

“How much do you owe her?”

“$156.25,” I said, hoping a lecture wasn’t coming.

“OK, this has to stop. Meet me downstairs in thirty minutes. AFTER you pick up this room.” Mom left, closing my bedroom door behind her.

Forty minutes later, after checking the status of my room, my mom sat at the kitchen table with a little black notebook and a stern look on her face. I sat across from her and prepared for the lecture I knew was coming.

“Sarah, please tell me what you spent your allowance on in a day and a half.”

I shut my eyes to think. “Lunch at school, this new ring,” I held out my hand to show her. “I had a library fine, Callie borrowed some, I’m not sure what else.”

My mom sighed, “Here’s the thing Sarah. You are a lovely, thoughtful person, and you aren’t as irresponsible as some of your peers. But your cash handling skills and attention to detail need some work.”

“I’m trying Mom,“ I say in my defense.

“Yes, I know. As your parent, it is my responsibility to help you. Help doesn’t mean enable and I feel that’s where we’re headed. So starting today, we will be doing something different. For the next seven days you will write down every, and I mean every, amount you spend.” She pushed the little black book across the table to me. “Are you willing to try an experiment?”

“Maybe,” I frowned. “What kind of experiment?

“I want you to know to the penny how much you spend, give away, deposit, or invest every day for the next seven days. You will write it all down in this book and present the book to me every evening. If at the end of the day you have no funds left in your hot little hand, you will get twice as much starting cash the following day. If you have any leftover you have not accounted for, the experiment stops.”

I looked at her. “You’ve got to be kidding, right? You are giving me money and TELLING me to spend it?”

“It’s not as easy as it sounds. You cannot use any money but what is given to you at the start of the day. That means no borrowing from friends, taking money from your savings, or finding coins in the street. You can only use, and live on, the amount you get every day. Deal?”

“Deal!” I said, wondering how I got so lucky. No lecture AND more money!

“One more thing. Whatever you use the money on has to be legal. That means no purchasing drugs or alcohol nor gambling since you’re not of age.”

The next morning, next to my breakfast bowl I found $156.25 and the black notebook. I opened it to the first page, wrote the amount and Angela’s name next to it, and closed the book with a satisfied grin. Easy, peasy!

At school, I discovered an error in my thinking. I wasn’t allowed to use any other funds and had no money for lunch. If I had thought it through, I would have made a sandwich, but instead, I ate a stale candy bar I found in my locker. Well, lesson learned. That night at dinner, I presented the book to my mom. “OK, day one down and done,” she said.

The next day at breakfast, I found the little black notebook and $312.50. I couldn’t wait to get to the mall after school. Starting the car up to go to school, I noticed the gas gauge was low. “Hey Mom, the car needs gas!” I called.

“You have money, honey,” she called back. “If you want tacos tonight, we’ll need taco shells and lettuce. Stop at the store before you get home.”

“Huh. This may not work out as well as I first thought,” I said to myself.

Before dinner, I sat down with the notebook to enter my receipts. I had $23.78 left and an hour to spend it. I opened my closet door and dug through the clothes on the floor. I finally found the small, wooden chest I had designated as my “college chest.” I hadn’t put money in it for quite a while but decided today was the day and put the last $23.78 into the college chest.

Mom looked rather surprised to see the college fund entry but didn’t say a thing.

Day three of the experiment had $625.00 next to my breakfast bowl. I was starting to worry. I didn’t know if I was up to the challenge. THAT was a surprise. Spending money had never been difficult before. Now that I had to account for everything, I found myself stopping to think if the purchase was worth the cost.

I asked Dad for advice. “What do I do? I don’t need any more clothes.”

He looked at me, squinting an eye. “Well, you’ve started a college fund. Why not give it a boost and open a CD at the bank?”

I grinned and gave him a hug. “Thanks, Dad!”

That night my parents went over my entries. School lunch for me and Callie. Car wash. Snacks and some groceries I knew we needed. Deposit on the junior class trip. CD for college. Make-up. Ice cream sundae. Gum. A new hairbrush. Rubber bands.

“How do you feel about this experiment?” My mom asked.

“Well, I think I’m learning to make better decisions,” I answered.

The morning of the fourth day I found $1,250 next to the cereal bowl. I had started thinking about the day’s purchases before I went to bed.

That evening as I handed over the book I said, “You may not like some of the entries.” I had $500 listed next to Callie’s name. Dad questioned me about it, just as I thought he might.

“Well, I noticed she doesn’t eat lunch at school. Yesterday she said something about her Dad taking time off from work because he hurt his back. She’s borrowed money before for things, even though she doesn’t like to ask. I just thought she needed it. It’s legal! I can donate money if I want.”

“You are correct, you can donate the money. I’m proud of you for seeing others in need and doing something about it,” Dad said hugging me.

I’d made a payment on the family VISA, picked up the dry cleaning, a purple gel pen, some gum, nail polish, rented some movies from RedBox, purchased lunch at school and food afterward, then put the remainder in my savings account.

On day five with the $2,500 I bought my Dad a sweater, a magazine subscription for my Mom, signed up and paid for a month of housecleaning, donated money to The Hole in the Wall Gang, handed out twenty-dollar bills to five different homeless people, bought lunch at school, put money in my college fund, purchased a stack of notebooks and pens for the school donation locker, left a $50 tip for my french fries, and bought some music on-line and some lip balm.

With the $5,000 on the sixth day, I had my Dad go with me to look at a used car after school. I put the entire amount on it as the down payment. I also made a sandwich and took an apple for lunch.

On the seventh day and last day of the experiment, I took the $10,000 and made the rest of the payment on the car, paid for lunch, and bought the family dinner, leaving a big tip. I gave the last few dollars and change to a little kid with torn jeans and a dirty face.

My parents were impressed. I was impressed. Then I was surprised. That night when we went over the book and all the entries, I found a check for $20,000 in the back pocket. “What is this for? I thought the experiment was only for seven days?” I exclaimed.

“It was,” said my Mom. “But we thought we’d extend it one more payment and help you start an investment account. Your Dad and I want to continue living in the way we’ve become accustomed to. We don’t want that to change when we are living with you in our old age!”

children
4

About the Creator

TG Gilliam

TG has recently started writing at the insistance of family members, who feel her experiences are just too funny to be forgotten.

She is experimenting with different writing avenues, including short stories, articles, and a blog.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.